About Women’s Hockey World Cup

Hyderabad, India: International Hockey Federation (FIH) started the Women’s World Cup in 1974. Later it merged with the International Federation of Women’s Hockey Associations (IFWHA) in 1982. Since 1986, the tournament occurs once in every 4 year.

2010 Women’s Hockey World Cup: Facts
List of Women’s Hockey World Cups Winners
2010 Women’s Hockey World Cup: Match Schedule and Results

Facts About Women’s Hockey World Cup

    Only four nations have won the past 11 events.
    At the end of the 2006 world cup, fourteen nations had reached the semifinal of the tournament.
    India reached the semifinal in 1974 World Cup.
    Argentina, Germany and Netherlands are the only teams to have competed at each World Cup
    28 teams have competed in at least one World Cup.
    Netherlands has won maximum titles- 6 (1974, 1978, 1983, 1986*, 1990, 2006).
    Netherlands has entered the semifinals in all but one apperance. Including 2010 World Cup, only in 1994 they failed to reach SF.

Best performance by Continents

    European 8 titles, won by Netherlands (6) and Germany (2)
    Oceania 2 titles, won by Australia
    Americas 1 title, won by Argentina
    Asian third place (Korea, 1990 and China, 2002)
    African Seventh place (South Africa, 1998)

Number of Participants

    10 teams 1974 and 1978
    11 teams 1976
    16 teams 2002
    12 teams in remaining 8 World Cups (including 2010)
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress | Find BlackBerry Phones for Sale Online. | Thanks to Top Bank CD Rates, Free MMORPG Games and Home Information Packs
  • Social Slider