History of Asia Cup Hockey

In 2013, 9th edition of Asia Cup Hockey is played at Ipoh, Malaysia. Pakistan and South Korea have achieved maximum titles, while Pakistan and India have played the maximum 6 finals. Malaysia has hosted on maximum occasions with Kuala Lumpur being the only venue to host the Cup twice, while India and Pakistan are the only teams to have won as hosts. Check the details on hosts, the ranks and teams participating in every Asia Cup.

2013 Asia Cup Schedule

Pakistan, Korea and India are the only three nations to have played the finals so far and three of them have together finished record 7 times in top 3. With Pakistan and India, China and Bangladesh are the only four teams to have participated in all the 9 Asia Cups. 2007 Asia Cup in Chennai had the maximum 11 Asian teams participating.

China, Malaysia and Japan are the other three nations to have reached semifinals. Overall 15 teams have participated so far including the 2013 Asian Games.

Fact File

    Overall Tournament: 9th
    First Asia Cup: 1982
    Last Asia Cup: 2009
    Winners: 3 (Pakistan, Korea), 2 (India)
    First winner: Pakistan (1982)
    Last Winner: Korea (2009)
    Teams in Top 3: Pakistan, Korea, India, China
    Teams in Top 4: Pakistan, Korea, India, China, Japan, Malaysia
    Teams Played till 2013: 15
    Max Asian Games Played: All (Pakistan, India, China, Bangladesh played)

Teams Played from 1982-2013 Asia Cups
Pakistan, India, Korea, Malaysia, China, Japan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Korea, Bangladesh, Iran, Kazakhstan, Thailand, Hong Kong, Oman

Teams Participation in Asia Cups
List of Names are based on ranks in every Asia Cup, except 2013.

    1982: Pakistan, India, China, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Singapore, Sri Lanka (7 teams)
    1985: Pakistan, India, South Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Bangladesh, China, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Iran (10 teams)
    1989: Pakistan, India, South Korea, Japan, China, Malaysia, Bangladesh (7 teams)
    1993: South Korea, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Bangladesh, China, Thailand, Japan (9 teams)
    1999: South Korea, Pakistan, India, Malaysia, Japan, Bangladesh, China, Hong Kong, Srilanka (9 teams)
    2003: India, Pakistan, South Korea, Japan, Malaysia, China, Bangladesh, Hong Kong (8 teams)
    2007: India, South Korea, Malaysia, Japan, China, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Thailand (11 teams)
    2009: Korea, Pakistan, China, Malaysia, India, Japan, Bangladesh (7 teams)
    2013: Korea, Pakistan, China, Malaysia, India, Japan, Bangladesh, Oman (8 teams)

While Karachi was the first host and only time when Pakistan hosted, Malaysia has hosted on maximum 4 ocassions. Pakistan and India are the only teams to have won the tournament at home. Pakistan won in 1982, India won in 2007.

    1982: Karachi, Pakistan
    1985: Dhaka, Bangladesh
    1989: New Delhi, India
    1993: Hiroshima, Japan
    1999: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    2003: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    2007: Chennai, India
    2009: Kuantan, Malaysia
    2013: Ipoh, Malaysia

Which Team Participated When in Asia Cup
All 9 Asia Cups: Pakistan, India, China, Bangladesh
8 Cups

    South Korea: 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2013
    Sri Lanka: 1982, 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009
    Japan: 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2013
    Malaysia: 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2013

3 Asia Cups

    Singapore: 1982, 1985, 2007
    Hong Kong: 1999, 2003, 2007

2 or 1 Asia Cups

    Thailand: 1994, 2007
    Iran: 1985
    Kazakhstan: 1994
    Oman: 2013
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress | Find BlackBerry Phones for Sale Online. | Thanks to Top Bank CD Rates, Free MMORPG Games and Home Information Packs
  • Social Slider