10th Edition of Super Series Finals: Statistics of Indian Players

In 10 editions of Super Series finals, 5 Indians have participated. 3 in Singles and a pair in Mixed Doubles. Saina Nehwal has been a regular at the Super Series Finals except 2010 when she did not qualify and 2016 when she just returned from an operation. In 2011 she reached the final, while in 2008, 2009, 2012 and 2014 she lost the semifinal. In 2013 and 2015, she was knocked out at Group stage. Indians have never won a medal but have two Runners up. While Saina has been in the finals once, India’s first finalist at Super Series Finals were V Diju and Jwala Gutta. 2nd seed Srikanth Kidambi and 4th seed PV Sindhu are representing India in 10th edition at 2017 Super Series Finals.

BWF Super Series Masters Records and Statistics
History and Winners of Super Series Masters

Schedule for Indians in 10th Super Series Finals
Dec 13

    Group A PV Sindhu vs He Bingjiao (China)
    Group B Srikanth Kidambi vs Viktor Axelsen (Denmark)

Dec 14

    Srikanth Kidambi vs Chou Tien-chen (Chinese Taipei)
    PV Sindhu vs Sayaka Sato (Japan)

Dec 15

    Srikanth Kidambi vs Shi Yuqi (China)
    PV Sindhu vs Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)

Indian Statistics before 2017 Super Series Finals

    1st finalist in 2009 Mixed Doubles Event – V Diju and Jwala Gutta
    Only other finalist is Saina Nehwal in 2011.
    6 semifinals: 4 for Saina, 1 each for Srikanth and Sindhu
    Appearance: 7 Saina, 2 Srikanth Kidambi, 1 V Diju / Jwala Gutta, 1 PV Sindhu

2008: 7th seed Saina Nehwal

    Finished 2nd at Group B winning 2 of the 3 matches losing only to group topper Tine Rasmussen (Denmark).
    Saina Lost to Wang Chen (Hong Kong) in semifinals.

2009: 2 events
Women’s Singles

    Saina won 2 of the three matches at Group A losing only to group topper Wong Mew Choo (Malaysia), who won the finals. Lost again the semifinal, this time to Juliane Shenk (Germany)

Mixed Doubles

    V Diju and Jwala Gutta won 2 of the 3 matches at Group B, losing to topper pair from England.
    They won the semifinals 21-19 21-11 against Indonesian pair but lost the finals 11-21 18-21 against pair from Denmark.


    Saina Nehwal won all three matches at group stage to finish on top.
    Defeated Tine Baun (Denmark) 21-17 21-18 in semifinals but lost to Yihan Wang (China) in the finals in three sets 21-18 13-21 13-21


    Saina finished second winning 1 and losing two matches. She lost to Tine Baun and Group topper Ratchanok Intanon. Lost the semifinals to eventual title winner Li Xuerui 20-22 21-7 13-21.


    2nd seed Saina Nehwal knocked out at Group Stage losing two matches and winning only against Bae Yeon-ju (Korea). She lost to Li Xuerui and Minatsu Mitani.

Men’s Singles

    4th seed Srikanth Kidambi finished 2nd at Group B losing only to group topper Jorgensen and winning against Kento Momota and Tommy Sugiarto. But, lost to title winner Long Chen 18-21 9-21 in semifinals.

Women’s Singles

    3rd seed Saina Nehwal topped the group all three matches defeating Sung Ji-hyun and Bae Yeon-ju (Korea) as well as Wang Shixian (China). But, lost the semifinal to eventual winner Tai Tzu-ying (Chinese Taipei). She lost 21-11 13-21 9-21.

Men’s Singles

    8th seed Srikanth Kidambi lost all three matches at Group B. He lost to title winner Kento Momota, Runners up Viktor Axelsen and Chou Tien-chen.

Women’s Singles

    5th seed Saina Nehwal could only win against Carolina Marin, losing to title winner Nozomi Okuhara and Tai Tzu-ying finishing third in Group A.


    8th seed PV Sindhu finished 2nd in Group B losing only to group topper Sun Yu (China), winning two matches against Akane Yamaguchi and Carolina Marin. But, she lost to 4th seed Sung Ji-Hyun in the semifinals 15-21 21-18 15-21.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.