1992 Olympics: India Gets First Woman Flag Bearer

Shiny Abraham who became the first Indian Woman to reach semifinals of Athletics event in 1984 Olympics, became the first Woman flag bearer of Indian Olympics Contingent at Barcelona Olympics.

Indian Performance in Every Olympics
History of All Sports Played at Olympics by India
Olympic History
Indian Athletes in 2012 Olympics

Olympics Statistics

    Venue: Barcelona, Spain
    Sports: 257 events in 25 sports
    Participating Nations: 169
    Athletes Participating: 9,356 (6,652 men, 2,704 women)

Indian Statistics

    India Ranking: No Medals
    Flag Bearer: Shiny Abraham-Wilson
    Indian Team: 52 Athletes (6 women in 5 Sports)
    Sports-India: Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Boxing, Hockey, Judo, Sailing, Shooting, Table Tennis, Tennis, Weightlifting, Wrestling
    1st time Sports: Badminton, Judo
    3rd: Shiny Abraham-Wilson (Athletics), Farokh Tarapore (Sailing), Soma Dutta (Shooter)
    2nd: Pargat Singh, Jude Sebastian, Jagbir Singh (Hockey), Subhash Verma (Wrestling), Limba Ram (Archery), Kamlesh Mehta, Sujay Ghorpade, Niyati Roy-Shah (Table Tennis), Badathala Adisekhar (Weightlifting)

Archery: 3 men in 2 events
Limba Ram, Changte Lalremsaga, Dhulchand Damor: Men’s Individual, 16th Men’s Team

Athletics: 2 athletes in 2 events

    Bahadur Prasad: Round 1 Men’s 5,000 metres
    Shiny Abraham-Wilson: Round 1 Women’s 800 metres

Badminton: 3 Shuttlers for 3 events

    Deepankar Bhattacharya: Round 3 Men’s Singles
    Vimal Kumar: Round 1 Men’s Singles
    Deepankar Bhattacharya / Vimal Kumar: Round 2 in Men’s Doubles
    Madhumita Bisht: Round 3 Women’s Singles

Boxing: 5 Pugilists in 5 events

    Rajendra Prasad: ROund 3 Men’s Light-Flyweight
    Dharmendra Yadav: Round 1 Men’s Flyweight
    Devarajan Venkatesan: Round 1 Men’s Bantamweight
    Narendar Bisth Singh: Round 1 Men’s Featherweight
    Sandeep Gollen: Round 1 Men’s Light-Welterweight

Hockey: 7th
Indian Men’s team won less matches and lost more for the first time, losing four games and winning three.

    Pargat Singh, Jude Sebastian, Jagbir Singh (Hockey)
    Others: Cheppudira Poonacha, Jagdev Singh Rai, Harpreet Singh, Sukhjit Singh, Shakeel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar Nandanoori, Dhanraj Pillay, Didar Singh, Ashish Kumar Ballal, Ravi Nayakar, Darryl D’Souza, Ajit Lakra


    Lost to Germany 0 – 3
    Def Argentina 1 – 0
    Lost to Great Britain 1 – 3
    Lost to Australia 0 – 1
    Def Egypt 2 – 1
    Classification Matches
    5th-8th place: Lost to Spain 0 – 2
    7th-8th place: Def New Zealand 3 – 2

Judo: 5 Judokas for 5 events (including one woman)

    Narinder Singh: Men’s Extra-Lightweight
    Sandeep Byala: Men’s Half-Lightweight
    Rajinder Kumar Dhanger: Men’s Middleweight
    Cawas Billimoria: Men’s Heavyweight
    Sangita Mehta: Women’s Heavyweight

Cyrus Cama & Farokh Tarapore: 23rd Men’s Two Person Dinghy

Shooting: 2 women in 3 events

    Soma Dutta: Women’s Air Rifle, 10 metres, Women’s Small-Bore Rifle, Three Positions, 50 metres
    Abha Dhillan: Women’s Air Pistol, 10 metres

Table Tennis: 4 Paddlers for 3 events (1 Woman)

    Kamlesh Mehta: Round 3 Men’s Singles
    Chetan Baboor: Round 1 Men’s Singles
    Sujay Ghorpade / Kamlesh Mehta : Round 2 Men’s Doubles
    Niyati Roy-Shah: Round 2 Women’s Singles

Tennis: 2 Men for two events

    Ramesh Krishnan: Men’s Singles
    Leander Paes: Men’s Singles
    Ramesh Krishnan/Leander Paes: 5th Men’s Doubles

Weightlifting: 3 men in 3 events

    Badathala Adisekhar: 10th Men’s Flyweight
    Ponnuswamy Rangaswamy: 18th Men’s Bantamweight
    Sivaraj Naalamuthu Pillai: 22nd Men’s Featherweight


    Subhash Verma: 6th Men’s Heavyweight, Freestyle
    Pappu Jadav: 8th Men’s Light-Flyweight, Greco-Roman
    M. R. Patil: Men’s Featherweight, Greco-Roman
    Anil Kumar: Men’s Flyweight, Freestyle
    Ashok Kumar: Men’s Bantamweight, Freestyle
    Dharan Singh Dahiya: Men’s Featherweight, Freestyle

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.