1st Match by 1 run, 2nd Match on Last Ball Makes DD the Best Loser

On Sunday, Delhi Daredevils played Rajasthan Royals. After losing first match to CSK just by 1 run, there was hope for a strong performance. But, now they lost on the last ball failing to save 3 balls against the tailenders. Unlike first match, the batsmen came to party and scored a healthy total of 184/3. But the bowlers could not prevent first Deepak Hooda and then the duo o Chris Morris and Southee, who hit the last-ball boundary to get Rajasthan Royals their second win in two matches.

Indian Premier League 2015: Schedule and Results

DD Scores 184/3
Mayank Agarwal scored 21-ball 37 runs with a six and 6 4s to give a flying start to DD. By the time Tambe got him in 4.4 overs DD had reached 45 runs. Shreyas Iyer (30-ball 40 with 3 6s and 3 4s ensured run flow does not stop. By 11th over when he was caught by Southee of Morris score read 93. Yuvraj with 17-ball 27 with 2 6s and Angelo Mathews (14-ball unbeaten 27 with a six and 3 4s) kept the scorer busy as Captain Duminy coming at No. 3 kept one end intact with unbeaten 38-ball 44 runs hitting 3 6s. 184/3 at Kotla was a good score.

For Rajsthan, Deepak Hooda was the most economic with 0/20 in 4 overs while Tambe with 1/18 in 3 overs was again impressive. Southee (0/36 in 4), Morris (2/35 in 4) and Faulkner (0/55 in 4) were taken to cleaners.

Deepak Hooda Does the Unbelievable, RR Wins
Continuing the trend of unbelievable performance from local players, Rajasthan Royals added another feather in the cap. After exceptional economic bowling, Hooda coming at No. 6 scored 25-ball 54 runs with 4 6s and 3 4s to snatch the win away from Delhi Daredevils. Till then Rajasthan were 78/4 in 10.4 overs as Sasmson (11), Captain Smith (10), Karuna Nair (20), and Stuart Binny (1) succumbed. Rahane (39-ball 47 with 3 6s and 2 4s) was fighting a lone battle till then when Hooda joined him. They added 52 runs in less than 5 overs and then as Rahane fell in 16th over, Hooda further demolished the Daredevils and took Royals to 166/6 in 18.1 overs when he fell to Imran Tahir. Faulkner (17) also went in the same over and RR needed 12 runs from 7 balls. Morris (6-ball 13 runs with a six and a four) and Southee (4-ball 7 runs) with the winning boundary finally managed to defy Angel Mathews in the last over as Royals won by 3 wickets on the last ball of the match.

For Daredevils except Imran Tahir (4/28 in 4) all the bowlers were taken to cleaners. Unadkat (0/30 in 3 overs), Coulter-Nile (0/42 in 4), Mathews (1/42 in 4) failed to check the run flow. Amit Mishra (2/32 in 4) was impressive though.

With this win Rajasthan Royals have joined CSK on top of Points table, while DD has recorded their record 11th straight win in IPL.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.