2011 Asian Men Hockey Champions Trophy: Factfile

The International Hockey Federation started a new chapter for Asian Hockey by announcing the First Champions Trophy to be held for Asian Men’s Hockey Team. Simultaneously, Ordos City in China is also the host of 2nd Asian Women’s Hockey Championship Trophy. Here are the tournament details for Men’s Hockey Championship.

India is the Winner
Match Results
Points Table

Tournament Factfile

    Schedule: Sept 3-11, 2011
    Venue: Ordos Hockey Stadium, Ordos
    Host: China
    Winner: India
    Teams: 6
    Matches: 18
    Format: Pool and Final
    Participants by Final Rank in Tournament: India, Pakistan, Malaysia, Japan, Korea and China

Pool and Classification Matches
The 6 teams played a match each against each other, playing 5 matches each in the pool. The top two performers of the pool played the final and India defeated Pakistan to win the inaugral championship. In other classification matches for 3rd and 4th place Malaysia again defeated Japan in another exciting match between these two teams, while host China were forced to be happy just with participation as Korea drubbed them in the match for 5th position.


    India became the first team to win Men’s Asian Hockey Championship.
    India remained the only unbeaten team in the tournament playing 6 matches, including the final.
    Host China were the only team who could not win any match.

Indian Men’s Squad

    Captain: Rajpal Singh
    Coach: Michael Nobbs
    Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri, PR Sreejesh
    Defenders: Sandeep Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Harpreet Singh.
    Midfielders: Sardar Singh, Gurbaj Singh, Ignace Tirkey, Manpreet Singh, Manjit Kullu
    Forwards: Rajpal Singh (captain), Danish Mujtaba, Sarvanjit Singh, SV Sunil, Ravi Pal, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Roshan Minz, Yuvraj Walmiki

Pakistan Men’s Squad

    Captain: Muhammad Imran
    Deputy Captain: Shakeel Abbasi
    Players: Mohammad Imran, Shakeel Abbasi, Imran Shah, Imran Butt, Mohammad Irfan, Rashid Mehmood, Syed Kashif Shah, Mohammad Rizwan Junior, Mohammad Tousiq, Shafqat Rasool, Waseem Ahmad, Rizwan Senior, Fareed Ahmed, Kashif Javed, Abdul Haseem Khan, Waqas Sharif, Mohammad Umar Bhutta and Ali Shan

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.