9th Women’s Asia Cup Hockey: Rani Rampal Leads 18-member Indian Squad

Indian Women’s Hockey Squad for 9th Women’s Asia Cup has been announced with Rani Rampal as captain and goalkeeper Savita as vice captain. Under the new coach Harendra Singh, Indian women would aim for their 2nd title at Asia Cup. The winner will qualify for 2018 Women’s Hockey World Cup in England. 8 teams are participating in the Asia Cup held at Kakamigahara City, Japan from 28th October to 5th November, 2017. Placed in Pool A with China, Malaysia and Singapore, Indians will start campaign against Singapore. Indians have reached the finals thrice and won the title once.

Coach: Harendra Singh
Captain: Rani Rampal
Vice Captain: Savita


    Goalkeepers: Savita, Rajani Etimarpu
    Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka, Sunita Lakra, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Suman Devi Thokam, Gurjit Kaur
    Midfielders: Nikki Pradhan, Namita Toppo, Monika, Lilima Minz, Neha Goyal
    Forwards: Rani Rampal, Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Sonika, Navneet Kaur, Navjot Kaur

Past Records at Asia Cup
Only four teams have won Women’s Asia Cup Hockey tournament in the last eight events. Indian women has won once. Except 1985, the first Women’s Asia Cup Indians have finished among top four always winning the title once in 2004, at home. Indians finished Runners up in 1999 (New Delhi) and 2009 (Thailand). In 1994 and last Asia Cup of 2013, Indians finished 3rd while in 1989 and 2007 finished 4th. From second Asia Cup, only four teams have reached the semifinals and all of them have won the title at least once. Malaysia and Singapore reached the semifinals of 1985 that was won by hosts South Korea after defeating Japan.


    4 South Korea
    2 China, Japan
    1 India

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.