Asian Twenty20 Championship: Indian Women Remain Unbeaten, Lift 6th Title

Indian Women's Team

Indian women continued their strangehold over Asian Women Twenty20 championship, winning 6th consecutive title. At Bangkok, after winning all the 5 matches at group stage, they defeated Pakistan by 17 runs to remain the only team to have ever win Asian Twenty20 Championshops. Ex-captain Mithali Raj emerged not only the Player of the Finals but also Player of the series, as the young captain Harmanpreet Kaur led India to another title.

Asian Women’s Twenty20 2016: Fixture and Results

In the final, Mithali Raj and bowlers were the difference. The Indian icon, carried the bat opening the inning scoring 65-ball 73 runs with 7 fours and a six as Jhulan Goswami with 17 was the only Indian to reach double digit while setting up 121/5.

While defending as Pakistan could score just 104/6 Ekta Bisht with 2/22, A Patil, Jhulan, Shikha and Preeti grabbed a wicket each.

At group stage, on their way to winning all the 5 matches, they had the distinction of bowling out a team at the lowest score of the tournament as they bundled Nepal at 21.
That match also saw the biggest margin of 99 runs win by any team in the tournament.

While Bangladesh scored the highest score (133) of the tournament, Indians crossed 100+ runs on all the four occasions when they batted first, including the final.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.