Asian Women Champions Trophy 2016: Indian Squad and History

Vandana Katariya will lead Indian women in Asian Champions Trophy to be held at Singapore from oct 29. Rio Olympics captain, Sushila Chanu was rested. Defender Sunita Lakra was named as the vice captain. The tournament will feature defending Champions Japan, China, Korea and Malaysia apart from India.

2016 Asian Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy: Indian Squad Announced
Asian Women Champions Trophy 2016: Schedule and Results

History of Asian Women’s Champions Trophy
The same five nations have participated in the last three tournaments of Asian Women’s Champions Trophy. While South Korea won the first two tournaments in 2010 and 2011, it did not participate in 2013. Japan won the four-nation event and India reached the final for the first time.

2010: Busan, South Korea

    Winner South Korea: Def Japan 2-1 in final
    3rd Place: India def China 2-1

2011: Ordos, China

    Winner South Korea: def China 5-3
    Third place: Japan def India 3-2

2013: Kakamigahara, Japan

    Winner: Japan def India 1-0
    Third place: Malaysia def China 3-1

Indian Squad for 2016 Champions Trophy

    Coach: Neil Hawgood
    Captain: Vandana Katariya
    Vice-Captain: Sunita Lakra
    Goalkeepers: Savita and Rajani Etimarpu
    Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka, Renuka Yadav, Sunita Lakra, Hnialum Lal Ruat Feli and Namita Toppo
    Midfielders: Nikki Pradhan, Navjot Kaur, Monika, Rani, Deepika and Navdeep Kaur.
    Forwards: Poonam Rani, Anuradha Devi Thokchom, Vandana Katariya, Preeti Dubey and Punam Barla

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.