Badminton French Open 2015: Can 8 Indians get 6th French Title for India!!

2015 French Open is scheduled from 21-26 October. The Prize money is $275,000. 8 Indians are representing India in Singles and Women’s Doubles. Since 1983 India has won 4 Men’s Singles Title and one Women’s Singles title, while three Indians have lost in the final. Saina has also reached the final in 2012. Her current coach Vimal Kumar is the only Indian to have won twice here, while Aparna Popat is the only Indian Women to win title at Paris. The last two year have seen only quarterfinals finish from Saina and Kashyap.

French Open 2015 Schedule for Indians: Day 1

French Open History
The French Open Badminton is held since 1909 by the Fédération Française de Badminton (FFBa), with breaks between 1915-1934, and in 1965, 1970, 1972, 1994 and 2006. In 2007 it was promoted to BWF Super Series making it one of the 12 major badminton tournaments in the World. It is held at Pierre de Coubertin Stadium.

5 Indians have Won the Tournament

    Men’s Singles Winner: Vimal Kumar (1983 and 1984), Sidarth Jain (2000), Abhinn Shyam Gupta (2001)
    Women’s Singls Winner: Aparna Popat won in 1998
    Women’s Singles Loser: Aparna Popat (1999), Saina Nehwal (2012)
    Men’s Singles Loser: Gopichand (1999)

Indians in 2015 One out of 8 reached Quarterfinals

    Saina Reached QFs
    HS Prannoy and Ajay Jayaram 2nd Round

Indians in 2014 Two in Quarterfinals
Saina, who lost to Shixian Wang in quarterfinal, and Kashyap were India’s best performer entering the quarterfinals. Sindhu and Prannoy lost in first round, Srikanth, in 2nd round to Vittinghus whom Jayaram will play in first round now. Jwala/Ashwini lost in 2nd round.

Indians in 2013 4 in 2nd round
Saina, Sindhu, Jayaram and Srikanth lost in 2nd round.
Jwala/Ashwini and Kashyap lost in first round.

1 Comment

  1. Prior to 2007, French Open wasn’t even part of the World Grand Prix circuit. It was just a European circuit tournament & top players didn’t participate in it. But since 2007, it was upgraded to Super Series event, thereby making it second most important tournament after Olympics or World Championships. So, the present-day first round winners of this event are better than previous ‘champions’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.