Badminton Super Series: V Diju & Jwala Gutta First to Reach Super Series Final

Although Saina Nehwal is the only regular Indian representatives in the BWF Super Series Masters, V Diju & Jwala Gutta got the opportunity to become first from India to reach the final of prestigious tournament. They qualified only once in 2009 and besides Saina became only the other Indian to qualify for the Super Series in the last 6 editions. The couple was unstoppable till the final where they finally had to concede defeat against the top seeds from Denmark who have won the event thrice now and are also the defending champions.

Srikanth: New Poster Boy of Indian Badminton

The First Indian Finalists: V Diju & Jwala Gutta in Mixed Doubles
While Saina has entered the Super Series in every edition except 2010, from India only one more team has qualified in the last six editions. V Diju & Jwala Gutta qualified for the Mixed Doubles Event and reached the final too.
Group B

    1. Lost to English pair of Anthony/Donna 21-15, 21-16
    2. Def Aprida/Vita (Indonesia) 21-8, 21-17
    3. Def Songphon/Kunchala (Thailand) 21-12, 21-18
    Semifinal: Def Rober/Nadiezda (Poland) 21-19, 21-11
    Final: Lost to top seeds from Denmark Fischer/Christinna 14-21, 18-21

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.