Can Ireland be the 1st Team to Get Past Ruthless Netherlands in Maiden Final!

Women's Hockey World Cup 2018

In 13 editions before, Netherlands have not only won half the titles but also denied three countries a title in maiden final. Ireland is the 4th team to face Netherlands in their maiden final. When it comes to Women’s Hockey World Cup, winning 7 of the previous 13 editions, Netherlands has established itself as the undisputed Queen. 3 of the 4 previous finalists lost to Netherlands in their maiden final. Can Ireland become the first team to upset the Queen and turn maiden final into title?

About Women’s Hockey World Cup
List of Women’s Hockey World Cups Winners
Indian Squad for Women’s Hockey World Cup 2018
2018 Women’s Hockey World Cup: Points Table
Summary of Group Stage
Who Will Prevent Repeat of FIFA World Cup 2018
2018 Women’s Hockey World Cup: Schedule and Results

How Every Finalist of World Cup Stands in First Final!

    1st Attempt winner Netherlands 1974
    10 Attempts for Argentina to win 1st final (2002), after finishing Runners up thrice
    2nd Attempt by Germany to win 1st final (1976). In their first attempt (1974), Netherlands knocked them out in semifinals.
    5th Attempt by Australia to win 1st final (1998), finished Runners up once
    Canada is the only country to have reached final and semifinal only once. Netherlands defeated them too.

Germans won title in maiden final but opposition was different. Argentina (1974), Australia (1990) and Canada (1983) met same fate, losing to Netherlands in their maiden final. Unlike Argentina and Australia, like Canada, Ireland has entered even semifinal for the first time.

West Germans, who lost 1974 World Cup semifinal to Netherlands, are the only team apart from Netherlands (1974) to have won title in their maiden final (1976). In 1976 final, Germans faced Argentina, who entered second consecutive final edging past Netherlands in Penalty shootout in the semifinal.

Argentina had to lose three finals before winning their first title. Australia had to lose once in final before lifting the World Cup trophy first time. Canada had to settle with Runners up finish in their only attempt. Its over to Ireland now to either emulate these three or emulate Netherlands and Germany who won title in their maiden finals.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.