Champions Trophy: Germany or Pak, Who Will Defeat Other Third Time in Final!!

At the pool stage nobody expected Germany and Pakistan to play the final. Besides the top two teams of the world, Australia and Netherlands, there was the host performing exceptional in last few months, then the most improved team of the World Belgium. Among them nobody thought that the young German team and Pakistan who had lost all the matches at 2014 Group stage and has not entered the final four since 2004 will even make it to the final. Surprising all in the knockouts both have set their 5th final against each other. Both have defeated each other twice in the final. Who will win the third time against each other in the final: 9 time Champion Germany or 3 time Champion Pakistan!!

Road to Final

Pakistan is entering the Champions Trophy final after 16 years. It lost to Netherlands in the final of 1998 at Pakistan. Germany has entered the final after 2009 when it lost to Australia. In their last three finals they have lost. Pakistan has conceded the maximum goals in the tournament while Germany has scored the least goals among the 8 participants of the tournament. But, does that matter now as they are the finalists!!

Germany vs Pakistan Record in the Finals
Both have won the finals twice against each other.

    1980 Pakistan Def Germany
    1988 Germany def Pakistan
    1991 Germany def Pakistan
    1994 Pakistan Def Germany

Pakistan’s Other Performances in the Finals
Won the inaugural 1978 Champions Trophy defeating Australia and have won the title thrice overall.
But, have lost the title on 6 occasions, including the one at India in 1996. Here is the list of losses of Pakistan in the final.

    Australia (1983, 1984)
    Germany (1988, 1991)
    Netherlands (1996, 1998)

Germany Record in the Champions Trophy Final

    1980: Lost to Pakistan
    1986: Def Australia
    1987: Def NEtherlands
    1988: Def Pakistan
    1991: Def Pakistan
    1992: Def Australia
    1993: Lost to Australia
    1994: Lost to Pakistan
    1995: Def Australia
    1997: Def Australia
    2000: Lost to Netherlands
    2001: Def Australia
    2002: Lost to Netherlands
    20006: lost to Netherlands
    2007: Def Australia
    2009: Lost to Australia

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.