CL Twenty20 2010 Star of The Tournament: Davy Jacobs

The 27 year old captain of Warriors have led his team to the final of the tournament. His 3 half-centuries have earned him 3 Man of the Matches. His captaincy have earned him the title of Mr. Gracious. His team is the only one to remain unchanged in 5 matches. Leading from the front he is the best pick of the tournament, the real star.

Full Name: David Johan Jacobs
Age: 27 years
DOB: Nov 4, 1982 in Klerksdorp, Transvaal
Major Teams: Eagles, Free State, North West, Northamptonshire, Warriors
Plays: Right-hand bat, opener and wicketkeeper

Without playing any international matches, he has emerged as the star of the tournament, surpassing the international stars playing in the tournament as well as successful players like Klinger (Redbacks captain), Petersen (Lions Captain), Fergusson (Redbacks), How (Central Districts Captain), J Theron (Warriors) and Pollard (Mumbai Indians all-rounder)

His average of 32.32 looks average in Twenty20. Yet, the strike rate of 124.04 in 43 innings of 46 Twenty20 matches with 6 50s shows his devastating talent. In 134 innings of 75 First-Class matches he has crosses century 12 times, with 23 half-centuries.

As a wicketkeeper, he has 27 dismissals in Twenty20 and 130 dismissals in First-class matches.

Making his debut in 2001/02 in First-class matches and in 2004 for Twenty20, his name is certain to soon be part of the South African national team and if available, he will be one of the most wanted players of IPL season 4.

Under his captaincy, Warriors have already won Standard Bank Pro20 and MTN40 in 2010-11, their first-ever trophies. Now, with Warriors already in the final of Airtel Champions League 2010, he is all set to gift his team another trophy.

Performance in CL Twenty20 2010
He is leading the batsmen with 252 runs and is set to grab the Golden bat.
Batting: 5 innings (5 matches), 252 runs, 32 fours, 8 six, at an average of 50.40 and strike rate of 143.18 with 3 half-centuries and 3 MOMs.
Catches: 3
Scores Against

    Wayamba: 26 runs b Mendis
    Victoria: 59 runs run out
    Central Districts: 74 runs c Mason b Noema-Barnett
    Chennai Super Kings: 32 runs c Hussey b Jakati
    South Australia: 61 runs c & b Harris

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.