Delhi Daredevils: Powerful Batting Side Gets Teeth in Bowling Too

Delhi Daredevils can be termed as 4th best side of the last three editions. Now, their batting looks weaker, but bowling looks much better.

Player’s Performances in 2011

While others have improved, Delhi Daredevils appears decaying. They reached the semifinals in first two edition, but in the third edition they appeared clueless with major guns not firing. In the first edition, they were considered unlucky to miss the finals, yet the team filled with a very strong batting line-up failed to fire together in all three editions.

2008 Performance: Won 7, Lost 7, NR 1
They started with a bang, defeating underdogs Rajasthan Royals by 10 wickets. But, later RR, in their way to the crown, defeated them twice. DD won both group matches against Deccan Chargers and Royal Challengers Bangalore, lost both to Kings XI. With Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians they were even, while in the only match against Kolkata Knight Riders they lost.

2009 Performance: Won 9, Lost 7
Till their semifinal defeat, they won both group matches against Deccan Chargers, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians. Against Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals they had even record. Deccan Chargers knocked them out in semifinal.

2010 Performance: Won 7, Lost 7
Lost both group matches to Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians, won both matches against Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals, and were even with Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders and Kings XI. Failed to make 3rd successive semifinal entry.

Overall Performance: Won 23, Lost 21, NR 1
The two-time semifinalists appeared a disintegrated team in 2010. Overall they have been the 4th best team of IPL 2011.

Current Hopes
Now, only Sehwag has been retained and they face an uphill task of being considered as strong teams. Finch, Ingram, Warner, Hopes, Irfan Pathan and Wade can change their fortunre. Bowling looks stable with Morkel, McDonald and Irfan Pathan. Irony is that the best batting side of first three editions lack teeth in batting now with revamped look.

Batsman: Sehwag (Captain), Aaron Finch, Colin Ingram, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Naman Ojha (WK),
Allrounder: Travis Birt, Robert Frylinck, James Hopes, Irfan Pathan, Venugopal Rao,
Bowlers: Morne Morkel, Andrew McDonald, Roelof van der Merwe, Ajit Agarkar, Varun Aaron, Robin Bist, Unmukt Chand, Ajit Chandila, Ashok Dinda, Shahbaz Nadeem, Yogesh Nagar, Prashant Naik, Rajesh Pawar, Aavishkar Salvi, Sridharan Sriram, Vikas Mishra, Tejashwi Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Vivek Yadav

Auction Players

    Irfan Pathan $1,900,000
    David Warner $750,000
    Umesh Yadav $750,000
    Venugopal Rao $700,000
    Morne Morkel $475,000
    Ashok Dinda $375,000
    James Hopes $350,000
    Aaron Finch $300,000
    Naman Ojha $270,000
    Ajit Agarkar $210,000
    Matthew Wade $100,000
    Colin Ingram $100,000
    Andrew McDonald $80,000
    Roelof van der Merwe $50,000
    Travis Birt $20,000
    Robert Frylinck $20,000

Retained Player

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.