Dutch Open 2016: Two-Time Defending Champion Ajay Jayaram loses his 3rd Final

Two-time defending champion and top seed from India, Ajay Jayaram entered the Men’s Singles final at Dutch Open 2016 Final that has a prize money of USD 55,000. On oct 16, he will meet 2nd seed Tzu Wei Wang (Chinese Taipei) trying for his third Dutch Open title. Indian Mixed Doubles pair, trying for their third title of the year after Russian Open and Brazil Open, failed to cross the semifinal barrier. Russian Open Champion and Finalists of Men’s and Women’s Singles were knocked out in first round, while top seed Men’s Doubles team also sufferred upset in third round. Ajay Jayaram has earlier in July entered the top 20 ranking for the first time. He is the third Indian after Prakash Padukone (1982) and Chetan Anand (2009) to have won Dutch Open title. Jayaram lost the final.

Jayaram leads His Final Opponent Tzu Wei Wang 2-0

    Swiss Open 2015 Unseeded Jayaram def 13th seed Wang 21-17 21-16
    All England Open 2015 Unseeded Jayaram def Wang 21-13 21-14

Jayaram at Dutch Open 2016

    Final: Lost to Tzu Wei Wang 21-10 17-21 21-18 in 55 minutes.
    Semis: Def Anders (Denmark) 21-18 13-21 21-13
    Def Ygor Coelho (Brazil) 21-15 21-18
    3rd round: Def Marius Myhre (Norway) 21-6 21-6
    2nd round: Def Philip Shishov (Bulgaria) 21-7 21-9
    1st Round: Def Henri (Finland) 21-16 21-11

Mixed Doubles Team: 4th seed Pranaav Jerry Chopra / Sikki Reddy

    Lost semifinal 21-19 21-16 to Soren / Maiken (Denmark)
    Def Ronan/Audrey (France) 21-10 10-21 21-17
    2nd round: Def Jordan / Anne (France) 21-16 21-17
    1st round: Def Ties / Alyssa (Netherlands) 21-5 21-16

Other Indians

    Men’s Doubles: Top seeds Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy knocked out in 3rd round
    Men’s Doubles: 3rd seed Pranaav Jerry Chopra / Akshay Dewalkar lost in 3rd round
    Mixed Doubles: Sumeeth Reddy / Meghna Jakkampudi reached Quarterfinals
    Men’s Singles: 11th seed Kashyap lost in 3rd round
    Men’s Singles: Siril Verma lost in 1st Round
    Men’s Singles: Sarang Lakhanee lost in 2nd Round
    Women’s Doubles: Meghna Jakkampudi / Poorvisha S Ram lost in 3rd round
    Women’s Singles: Shivani Ruthvika Gadde lost in 1st round

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.