French Open: List of Men’s Singles Open Era winners

Open Era started from 1968. With 8 wins Nadal is the new King of Open Era at French Open, breaking Borg’s record of 6 wins. Nadal’s 8 wins equal the all-time record of 8 maximum wins by Max Decugis (FRA) who won between 1903-1914. While the champions have come from 18 different countries since 1892, France has won maximum 38 titles, while Spain has the maximum 14 in Open Era. Here is a list of winners from 1968 to 2010.

Final Results

Year Winners Runners Up
1968 Ken Rosewall (Aus) Rod Laver (Aus)
1969 Rod Laver (Aus) Ken Rosewall (Aus)
1970 Jan Kodes (TCH) Zeljko Franulovic *(Yug)
1971 Jan Kodes (TCH) Ilie Nastase (Rou)
1972 Andres Gimeno (ESP) Patrick Proisy (FRA)
1973 Ilie Nastase (Rou) Nikola Pilic (Yug)
1974 Bjorn Borg (Swe) Manuel Orantes (ESP)
1975 Bjorn Borg (Swe) Guillermo Vilas (Arg)
1976 Adriano Panatta (Ita) Harold Solomon (USA)
1977 Guillermo Vilas (Arg) Brian Gottfried (USA)
1978 Bjorn Borg (Swe) Guillermo Vilas (Arg)
1979 Bjorn Borg (Swe) Victor Pecci (Par)
1980 Bjorn Borg (Swe) Vitas Gerulaitis (USA)
1981 Bjorn Borg (Swe) Ivan Lendl (TCH)
1982 Mats Wilander (Swe) Guillermo Vilas (Arg)
1983 Yannick Noah (Fra) Mats Wilander (Swe)
1984 Ivan Lendl (TCH) John McEnroe (USA)
1985 Mats Wilander (Swe) Ivan Lendl (TCH)
1986 Ivan Lendl (TCH) Mikael Pernfors (Swe)
1987 Ivan Lendl (TCH) Mats Wilander (Swe)
1988 Mats Wilander (Swe) Henri Leconte (Fra)
1989 Michael Chang (USA) Stefan Edberg (Swe)
1990 Andres Gomez (Ecu) Andre Agassi (USA)
1991 Jim Courier (USA) Andre Agassi (USA)
1992 Jim Courier (USA) Petr Korda (TCH)
1993 Sergi Bruguera (ESP) Jim Courier (USA)
1994 Sergi Bruguera (ESP) Alberto Berasategui (ESP)
1995 Thomas Muster (AUt) Michael Chang (USA)
1996 Yevgeny Kafelnikov (Rus) Michael Stich (Ger)
1997 Gustavo Kuerten (Bra) Sergi Bruguera (Esp)
1998 Carlos Moya  (Esp) Alex Corretja (Esp)
1999 Andre Agassi (USA) Andrei Medvedev (Ukr)
2000 Gustavo Kuerten (Bra) Magnus Norman (Swe)
2001 Gustavo Kuerten (Bra) Alex Corretja (Esp)
2002 Albert Costa (Esp) Juan Carlos Ferrero (Esp)
2003 Juan Carlos Ferrero (Esp) Martin Verkerk (Ned)
2004 Gaston Gaudio (Arg) Guillermo Coria (Arg)
2005 Rafael Nadal (Esp) Mariano Puerta (Arg)
2006 Rafael Nadal (Esp) Roger Federer (Sui)
2007 Rafael Nadal (Esp) Roger Federer (Sui)
2008 Rafael Nadal (Esp) Roger Federer (Sui)
2009 Roger Federer (Sui) Robin Soderling (Swe)
2010 Rafael Nadal (Esp) Robin Soderling (Swe)
2011 Rafael Nadal (Esp) Roger Federer (SUI)
2012 Rafael Nadal (Esp) Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2013 Rafael Nadal (Esp) David Ferrer (Esp)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.