French Open SS: A Day of Wins in Round 1 for Indians

Searching for the 7th French Open Super Series title, Indians had a successful outing at French Open 2017. Denmark Open SS Winner Srikanth Kidambi, 2012 French Open Super Series Runners up Saina Nehwal and World No. 2 Sindhu advanced to Round 2 with HS Prannoy, who knocked out Denmark Open 2017 Runners up from Korea, Sai Praneeth, India’s newest entry to Super Series winner group, Women’s Doubles pair of Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy and Men’s Doubles pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty. First day saw 2nd seed Son Wan Ho, 7th seed Lee Chong Wei and 2012 winner Minatsu Mitani knocked out.

Indian Winners of Round 1

    HS Prannoy def LEE Hyun Il (Korea) 21-15 21-17 in 43 minutes
    Sai Praneeth def Khosit (Thailand) 21-13 21-23 21-19 in 1 hour 5 minutes
    Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy def England pair 21-12 21-12 in 24 minutes
    Saina 21-14 11-21 21-10 in 49 minutes
    Srikanth wins as Fabian retires after trailing 0-3
    Sindhu def Beatriz 21-19 21-18 in 35 minutes
    Satwiksairaj / Chirag won 21-12 21-14 in 30 minutes

Indians Knocked out

    Kashyap lost 21-23 21-18 21-17 to Ginting (Indonesia) in 1 hour 14 minutes
    Manu Attri/Sumeeth Reddy lost 21-11 21-13 vs Russian pair

Schedule for Indians in Round 2
Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy play the top seeds, while HS Prannoy takes on Vittinghus who knocked out 2nd seed Korean. Saina meets again Yamaguchi, who knocked her out last week at Denmark Open. Sai Praneeth takes on Nishimoto who knocked out Lee Chong Wei today. Srikanth plays Vincent whom he defeated last week in semifinals.

    HS Prannoy vs Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Denmark)
    Sai Praneeth vs Kenta Nishimoto (Japan)
    Saina Nehwal vs Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)
    Srikanth vs Vincent (Hong Kong)
    Sindhu vs Jindapol (Thailand)
    Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy vs Top seeds Misaki / Ayaka (Japan)
    Satwiksairaj / Chirag vs TBD

In Career meets, Sai Praneeth has won the only match he played against Nishimoti (India Open 2017).
Srikanth leads Vincent 3-2

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.