Glasgow 2014: Gowda Joins Milkha, But Athletics Disappoint Again

Vikas Gowda won the Discus Throw Gold medal in 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games to become the first Indian Male Athlete to win Gold Medal in Athletics in 56 years, after Milkha Singh who won the Gold medal in 1958 Commonwealth games. But, besides him only Seema Antil (Silver in Women’s Discus) and Arpinder Singh (Bronze in Men’s Triple Jump) could earn medals. 13 Men and 13 Women Athlete could get only 3 medals. In 2010 CWG at Delhi, Athletics was India’s third best sports earning 12 medals (2 Gold, 3 Silver and 7 Bronze). Every country seeks for improvement but for India, even in the contingent of 215 only 26 athletes could find place. Check the comparison with 2010 performance, and the performance of all the 26 athletes in 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Glasgow Commonwealth Games 2014: List of Medal Winners of India
SUmmary: Shooting, Judo

2010 Medal Winners
Besides other medals, Women’s Discus throw provided historical moment to Indian athletics as all the three medals went to Indians. Seema Antil won the bronze and in 2014 went on to win the Gold.

    Krishna Poonia (Women’s Discus Throw)
    Manjeet Kaur, Sini Jose, Ashwini Akkunji & Mandeep Kaur Women’s 4×400m (Relay)


    Vikas Shive Gowda (Men’s Discus Throw)
    Prajusha Maliakkal (Women’s Long Jump)
    Harwant Kaur (Women’s Discus Throw)


    Kavita Raut (Women’s 10,000m)
    Harminder Singh (Men’s 20 kilometres walk)
    Seema Antil (Women’s Discus Throw)
    Sathi Geetha, Srabani Nanda, Priya PK & Jyothi Manjunath in Women’s 4×100m (Relay)
    Rahamatulla Molla, Suresh Sathya, Shameer Manzile & Mohd. Abdul Najeeb Qureshi in Men’s 4×100m (Relay)
    Renjith Maheswary (Men’s Triple Jump)
    Kashinath Naik (Men’s Javelin Throw)

Events With Medal in 2010 and 2014
All the three medals of India came in the events in which they had won medals in 2010 Delhi CWG too.

    Vikas Gowda had won silver in 2010, and now he won Gold.
    Seema Antil had won bronze, and she also improved to win Gold.
    Triple Jump had seen Renjith Mahesary winning the Bronze in 2010. In 2010, Arpinder Singh matched the feat in same event.


    Relay race teams failed to qualify while in 2010 they had won medals.
    Even in Long Jump and Javelin Throw, athletes failed to repeat the feat.
    No other events showed future promise of improvement.

Medal Winners of 2014

    Gold: Vikas Gowda (Men’s Discus Throw) with 63.64m throw
    Silver: Seema Antil (Women’s Discus Throw) with 61.61m throw
    Bronze: Arpinder Singh (Triple Jump) with 16.63m jump.

Reached Final But Without medals

    Om Prakash Karhana (Shot Put) finished 6th with 18.73 m throw.
    Chandrodaya Narayan Singh (Hammer Throw) finished 6th with 67.99 m throw.
    Krishna Poonia (Women’s Discus Throw) finished 5th with 57.84 m throw.
    Annu Rani (Javelin Throw) finished 8th with 56.37m throw.
    Sahana Kumari (High Jump) finished 8th with 1.86m throw.
    Ravinder Singh Khaira and Vipin Kasana (Javelin Throw) Scored no marks.
    4×400 m relay (M. R. Poovamma, Tintu Luka, Debashree Majumdar, Ashwini Akkunji) team disqualified.

Reached Semifinals

    Sharadha Narayana (100 m Women’s Race) time: 11.71 finished 6th
    M. R. Poovamma (400 m Women’s Race) finished 5th with 52.88 time.
    Tintu Luka (800m finished 7th with 2:03.35 time.

Did Not Advance from 1st Round

    Kamalpreet Singh (Hammer Throw) with throw of 65.23 m
    Davinder Singh (Javelin Throw) with throw of 70.56 m
    Siddhanth Thingalaya (110 m hurdles) finished with time of 13.93
    4x400m Men’s Relay Team (Rajiv Arokia, Kunhu Mohammed, Jithu Baby, Jibin Sebastian) disqualified


    Mayookha Johny (Long Jump) 6.11 m
    4×100 m relay (Saradha Narayan, H M Jyothi, Srabani Nanda, Asha Roy) finished 5th with 44.81 timing.
    Ashwini Akkunji (400m Hurdles) finished 16th with 58.75 time.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.