Head to Head Ind Vs New Zealand: 3-plus Nation Tournaments

India and New Zealand played against each other for the first time ever in an ODI in 1975 World Cup. New Zealand won by 4 wickets. Below is the list and result of all such matches played between them till the end of 2016.

Head to Head India Vs New Zealand ODI Records
Head to Head Statistics: India Against New Zealand
Head to Head Statistics: New Zealand Against India
Head to Head ODI: Ind Vs NZ in Triangular Tournaments
Head to Head Ind Vs New Zealand: ODI Bilateral Series Records

Rivalry Facts

    They have met 7 times in World Cup, and NZ has won 4 times.
    They have never met in 4 ICC Champions Trophy.
    In ICC knock-out they met in final and NZ won.
    Ind has won 4 of the 5 matches they have played in other 5 tournaments involving more than 3 nations, besides ICC World Cup or other ICC tournaments.

World Cups
1983 Prudential Cup, 1996 Wills World Cup, 2007 ICC World Cup – Did not meet
1975 Prudential Cup

    1. NZ won by 4 wkts

1979 Prudential Cup

    2. NZ won by 8 wkts

1987 Reliance World Cup

    3. Ind won by 16 runs
    4. Ind won by 9 wkts

1992 Benson & Hedges World Cup in Australia/New Zealand (Pak won)

    5. NZ won by 4 wkts

1999 ICC World Cup

    6. NZ won by 5 wkts

2003 ICC World Cup

    7. Ind won by 7 wkts

ICC Trophy
2000 ICC KnockOut in Kenya (NZ won)

    8. NZ won by 4 wkts (Final)

2002, 2004, 2006, and 2010 ICC Champions Trophy
Did not meet

1986 Austral-Asia Cup (Sharjah – Pak won)
Pakistan, Australia, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and India

    9. Ind won by 3 wkts

1990 Austral-Asia Cup in Sharjah (Pak won)
Australia, Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka in United Arab Emirates
No matches between Ind and NZ

1994 C.A.B. Jubilee Tournament (Hero Cup) in India (Ind won)
India, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe

    10. Ind won by 7 wkts
    11. Ind won by 107 runs

1995 New Zealand Centenary Tournament in New Zealand (Aus won)
(Australia, India, New Zealand, and South Africa)

    12. NZ won by 4 wkts

1997 Pepsi Independence Cup in India (SL won)
(India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka)

    13. Ind won by 8 wkts

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.