History of Asia Cup Hockey

2017 edition was the 10th edition of Men’s Asia Cup Hockey. South Korea has achieved maximum 4 title, while India have played the maximum 8 finals. Dhaka (Including 2017) and Kuala Lumpur are the only venues where the Asia Cup has been hosted twice, while India and Pakistan are the only teams to have won as hosts. Check the details on Top four teams, hosts, the ranks and teams participating in every Asia Cup.

Asia Cup: History, 2013, 2017
Indian At Asia Cup: Overall Record, Results by Editions, Results by Nation

Pakistan, Korea, India and Malaysia are the only four nations to have played the finals so far and three of them have together finished record 9 times in top 3. With Pakistan and India, China and Bangladesh are the only four teams to have participated in all the 10 Asia Cups. 2007 Asia Cup in Chennai had the maximum 11 Asian teams participating.

South Korea finishes 4th for the first time in 9 editions. It has won maximum 4 tournaments, finished Runners up once and was third thrice.

Pakistan finished third for the second consecutive edition after 2013 to grab third 3rd place finish overall in 10 editions. Pakistan won the first three editions, finished Runners up thrice before.
Only once both did not finish in top 4. South Korea in 1982 when they did not participate and Pakistan in 2007 when they finished 6th.
India has also only once did not finish among top four in 2009 when they finished 5th.

China, Malaysia and Japan are the other three nations to have reached semifinals. Overall 15 teams have participated so far including the 2013 Asian Games.

Fact File

    Overall Tournament: 10
    First Asia Cup: 1982
    Last Asia Cup: 2017
    Winners: 4 Korea, 3 Pakistan, 3 India
    First winner: Pakistan (1982)
    Last Winner: India (2017)
    Teams in Top 3: Pakistan, Korea, India, Malaysia, China
    Teams in Top 4: Pakistan, Korea, India, China, Japan, Malaysia
    Teams Played till 2017: 16
    Max Asian Games Played: 4 (Pakistan, India, China, Bangladesh played) played all

Teams Played from 1982-2013 Asia Cups
Pakistan, India, Korea, Malaysia, China, Japan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Korea, Bangladesh, Iran, Kazakhstan, Thailand, Hong Kong, Oman, Chinese Taipei

Hosts and Top four teams of all editions
While Karachi was the first host and only time when Pakistan hosted, Malaysia has hosted on maximum 4 occasions. Pakistan and India are the only teams to have won the tournament at home. Pakistan won in 1982, India won in 2007.

Edition Host Teams 1st 2nd 3rd 4th
1982 Karachi 7 Pak India China Malaysia
1985 Dhaka 10 Pakistan India South Korea Japan
1989 Delhi 7 Pakistan India South Korea Japan
1994 Hiroshima 9 South Korea India Pakistan Malaysia
1999 Kuala Lumpur 9 South Korea Pakistan India Malaysia
2003 Kuala Lumpur 8 India Pakistan South Korea Japan
2007 Chennai 11 India South Korea Malaysia Japan
2009 Kuantan 7 South Korea/td>

Pakistan China Malaysia
2013 Ipoh 8 South Korea India Pakistan Malaysia
2017 Dhaka 8 India Malaysia Pakistan South Korea

Which Team Participated When in Asia Cup
All 10 Asia Cups: Pakistan, India, China, Bangladesh
9 Cups

    South Korea: 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2013, 2017
    Sri Lanka: 1982, 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009
    Japan: 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2013, 2017
    Malaysia: 1985, 1989, 1994, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2013, 2017

3 Asia Cups

    Singapore: 1982, 1985, 2007
    Hong Kong: 1999, 2003, 2007

2 or 1 Asia Cups

    Thailand: 1994, 2007
    Oman: 2013, 2017
    Iran: 1985
    Kazakhstan: 1994
    Chinese Taipei: 2013

Teams Participation in Asia Cups
List of Names are based on ranks in every Asia Cup (Except 2017).

    1982: Pakistan, India, China, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Singapore, Sri Lanka (7 teams)
    1985: Pakistan, India, South Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Bangladesh, China, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Iran (10 teams)
    1989: Pakistan, India, South Korea, Japan, China, Malaysia, Bangladesh (7 teams)
    1994: South Korea, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Bangladesh, China, Thailand, Japan (9 teams)
    1999: South Korea, Pakistan, India, Malaysia, Japan, Bangladesh, China, Hong Kong, Srilanka (9 teams)
    2003: India, Pakistan, South Korea, Japan, Malaysia, China, Bangladesh, Hong Kong (8 teams)
    2007: India, South Korea, Malaysia, Japan, China, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Thailand (11 teams)
    2009: Korea, Pakistan, China, Malaysia, India, Japan, Bangladesh (7 teams)
    2013: Korea, India, Pakistan, Malaysia, Japan, Oman, Bangladesh, Chinese Taipei (8 teams)
    2017: India, Malaysia, Pakistan, South Korea, Japan, Bangladesh, China, Oman (8 teams)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.