History of Dronacharya Award

Instituted in 1985, Indian Government confers this awards to the sports coaches acknowledging their excellence. O.M. Nambiar, Athletics coach, was the first Dronacharya Award recipient in 1985.

About Dronacharya Award
Named after Dronacharya, the coach of Mahabharata fame, the award is the best recognition of a guru or coach in Indian sports. 108 coaches have been awarded till 2017.

List of Awardees

As of 2017, the award comprises a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a certificate, ceremonial dress, and a cash prize of ₹5 lakh (US$7,800).

Number of Awardees By Sports

    22 Athletics
    17 Boxing
    14 Wrestling
    9 Hockey
    5 Cricket, Kabaddi
    4 Billiards & Snooker
    3 Weightlifting, Badminton
    2 Chess, Volleyball, Gymnastics, Rowing, Archery, Swimming
    1 Football, Judo, Kho-Kho, Powerlifting, Shooting, Table Tennis, Yachting, Squash, Volley Ball


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.