If History Does Matter Then India is 2012 T20 World Cup Champion

Even critics of history cannot deny with cetrainty that history does not matter psychologically. It takes once in a lifetime extraordinary performance to change the way history behaves. For Pakistan the sad history of losing to India in any format of Cricket World Cup continues as they lost their third T20 World Cup match against India, adding to their agony of ODI World Cup matches loss. If history does matter, then India is set to be the T20 World Cup Champion, if they defeat South Africa in their last Super Eight match. Check how..

T20 World Cup 2012: Schedule and Results

India has never lost to Pakistan in a World Cup Cricket match. Despite their history of not winning a single Super Eight match in the last two World Cup match and losing shamefully to Australia in their first Super Eight match of 2012 T20 World Cup, Indians must have been confident of a victory before they had even actually won the toss in their game against archrivals Pakistan in the T20 World Cup Super Eight match in 2012.

Pakistan is the best team of T20 World Cup with one win, two final entries and record of being the only team to have reached the semifinal of the first three T20 World Cups. To boast their claims they have won all the Group matches and the Super Eight match against South Africa without being challenged.

India on the other hands had kept the record of being the group leader in the Group Stages of all the T20 World Cup, but apart from 2007 T20 WOrld Cup when they won the first T20 championships they have failed to register a single win in the Super Eight of the last two World Cups. Even the Super Eight of fourth World Cup did not appear different from the last two World Cups when Australian thrashed them by 9 wickets with a record number of balls remaining. With T20 World Cup best team Pakistan and T20 top-ranked team South Africa in their Super Eight Group to be the opponents in the next two matches, the fate did not appear to vary from the last two World Cups.

Still, as expected it was Pakistan who crumbled under the pressure of facing India in the World Cup match. They needed just a simple victory to book a semifinal berth. Not a surprise they succumbed to their lowest ever T20 World Cup score of 128, bowled within 20 overs. The same Indian bowling that was unimpressive against Australia became their toughest nut to crack. None of their batsmen could shine, even the Umars, hero of the surprise victory against South Africa, succumbed.

Chasing the total, Indians were clinical. Captain Dhoni had all his tricks working at the right time. While Balaji, replacing Piyush Chawla, bowled the spell of his lifetime, Sehwag back to the team after lot of controversy provided the start India needed. Virat Kohli, the superstar of Indian team decided to not throw his wicket and take a long breath only when India scores the winning run, was deservingly awarded the Player of the Match award for his knock of unbeaten 76 runs, although Balaji with 3 crucial wickets could have been a popular choice when the opponent is bowled out only for 128.

Still, in an Indo-Pak match no low score is less unless the victory is achieved. Credit must be given to Virat Kohli’s unbeaten knock that helped India crush Pakistan by 8 wickets with 18 balls to spare and bringing India’s Net Run Rate to -0.45 just below Pakistan’s -0.43, giving India a clear hope of Semifinal with probably just a simple win over South Africa in their last match, who are already choking with the thought of having to play the finals being ranked top in ICC T20 ranking, losing both the Super Eight matches.

If India wins against South Africa and Shane Watson’s Australia continues to dominate and register another win, even close, against Pakistan, then India and Australia proceed to semifinal from their group. From Other group the hosts Sri Lanka are set to enter their third consecutive semifinal topping their group. India will finish second, even if they register huge win over South Africa. And Australia may face England or West Indies in the semifinal.

Coming to the history, the win against Pakistan indicates that India will be the champion. Reasons unlimited. Check how!!
1. If India reaches semifinal, it meets Sri Lanka.
2. Sri Lanka is the host, and historically no host has reached beyong semifinal. South Africa and West Indies are examples.
3. Considering current form Australia remains invincible and will dominate even in semifinal to reach their second consecutive final.
4. Yet, in the final the undefeated team has never won. Sri Lanka in 2009 and Australia in 2010 are the examples.
5. As a result, who wins!! India 🙂

Not to forget the fact that glorious history is just a dream unless it repeats itself and some day or other history is bound to be rewritten. Indian fans may prefer another World Cup for the history to be rewritten though.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.