Ind vs Aus 2nd ODI: India Ruled Brisbane Once, Humbled Later

Indian ODI at Brisbane Cricket Ground

With 9 losses in 15 appearances, Brisbane does not have a pleasant memory for Indians, but the rare Commonwealth Bank Triangular Series trophy won here in 2008 defeating Australia is certainly a confidence booster for generations. From that tournament winning team, Indians still have Captain Dhoni and first match centurion Rohit Sharma. Meanwhile before Indian Bilateral ODI series, the host Australia has won 21 and lost 14 of the 39 matches they have played at Brisbane Cricket ground.

ODI Squads
Ind vs Aus Bilateral ODI Series History
Ind vs Aus T20 Record

After CB Series Trophy win, India was humbled in 2012 CB series losing by 110 runs first to Aussies and then to Sri Lanka by 51 runs. Last year in Carlton Tri-series, England mauled India by 9 wickets too.

Unlike Perth, where India has 6 wins and 7 losses from 14 ODIs, at Brisbane India has recorded 9 losses and won only 4 in 15 outings.

    Vs Australia Lost 3 won 2 No Result 1
    Vs New Zealand Lost 2 won 1
    vs Zimbabwe won 1
    Vs West Indies/Pakistan/England Lost 1 each
    Vs Srilanka 1 Lost 1 No result

Brisbane Statistics for India

    Played the 2nd match played at this ground (1980, 81), and lost twice to Kiwis.
    184* run between Dhoni and Gambhir vs SL in 2008 is 5th wkt partnership record here.
    Irfan Pathan is the joint 7th in the list of most successful bowlers taking 11 wickets in 7 appearances at this ground.
    Dilip Doshi (4/30 in 1980) and Praveen Kumar (4/46), Balaji (4/48) and Srinath (4/49) are joint 3rd on the most successful bowling in an ODI on this ground.
    Tendulkar with 348 runs in 9 innings is 9th most successful batsman here, where top 8 places are shared by Aussies and Carribeans. Dhoni has 251 runs from 5 innings.
    103* by Laxman vs Aussies (2004) that India won and 102* by Gambhir vs Sri Lanka (2008) are the two centuries by Indians here.
    303/4 by India is 4th highest total on this ground, after 324/7 and 321/6 of Australia and 306 by Sri Lanka.

Indian Matches and Results at Brisbane

    1980 vs New Zealand lost by 3 wickets
    1981 vs New Zealand lost by 22 runs
    1986 vs New Zealand won by 5 wickets, MOM: Kapil Dev (1/28, 53-ball unbeaten 54)
    1986 vs Australia lost by 4 wickets
    1992 vs West Indies lost by 6 wickets
    1992 vs Australia lost by 1 run
    2000 vs Pakistan lost by 45 runs
    2004 vs Australia won by 19 runs, MOM: Laxman (103*)
    2004 vs Zimbabwe won by 24 runs, MOM: Yuvraj Singh (69)
    2008 vs Australia no result
    2008 vs Sri Lanka no result
    2008 vs Australia won by 9 runs (FINAL), MOM: Praveen Kumar (4 wickets)
    2012 vs Australia lost by 110 runs
    2012 vs Sri Lanka lost by 51 runs
    2015 vs England lost by 9 wickets.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.