Ind vs WI 3rd Test: India Eye Top Test Rank, WI Confident at Safe Gros Islet

West Indies win the toss and elect to field at Gros Islet, which hosts fith test match. Indians continue with KL Rahul, while Pujara, Amit Mishra, Umesh Yadav are replaced by Rohit, Jadeja and B Kumar. West Indies bring in young pacer Joseph and opener Johnson. Both the teams have no players from that 2006 test match 2006 at the same venue when batting first India scored their highest total but failed to grab the last three wickets under Rahul Dravid. For India, Number 1 ICC test ranking beckons with 3-0 series win, but West Indies hold a good record at this ground. Check the current test squad and summary of last test between these two on this ground.

2016 Ind in WI: Test Schedule and Results

Squads for 3rd Test

    Indian Squad : Dhawan, KL Rahul, ROhit Sharma, Kohli, Rahane, Ashwin, Saha, Jadeja, Ishant, Shami, B Kumar
    West Indies Squad: KC Brathwaite, Leon Johnson, Darren Bravo, Samuels, Blackwood, Chase, Dowrich, Holder*, Miguel Cummins, Joseph, Gabriel

As West Indies host India for the third test of the series, at Gros Islet Virat Kohli may have an eye on 3-0 after missing the clean sweep as that will guarantee India No. 1 spot in Test ranking.
Holder and his team on the other hand may feel confident after 2nd test performance where they could defy Indian bowlers and contain batsmen too up to some extent.

Gros Islet has hosted just 4 test matches before starting from 2003. Starting against Sri Lanka, hosts have drawn first three test matches and won the 4th test by 296 runs against Bangladesh.

One of those drawn test was against India in 2006 when Dravid’s men couldn’t take the last three wickets after asking West Indies to follow on.

Ind vs WI Test at Gros Islet in 2006
That team had current coach Kumble as bowler. No other player from current Indian or West Indies team was part of that test match.

Indians declared at 588/8, their highest test score at West Indies. Sehwag (180), Dravid (146) and Kaif (146*) scored centuries.

3 wickets each by Munaf Patel, Kumble and Sehwag help force a follow on as West Indies were bowled at 215 runs. In the second innings, Captain Lara’s 120, 54 by Chanderpaul and 47 by Dwayne Bravo defied India’s effort to win the series as West Indies finished at 294/7.
Kumble grabbed 3 wickets in second innings too and Sehwag was declared Player of the match for his 180 and 4 wickets in test match.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.