India Becomes 2nd Team to Win Junior World Cup More than Once

Indian Hockey’s rise towards restoring old glory received another boost as after winning Asian Champions Trophy for Men’s and Women’s, now Indians became the second team to win the Junior Men’s Hockey World Cup more than once. They defeated first-time finalist Belgium 2-1 in the Junior Hockey World Cup 2016 at Lucknow, India in the tournament played from 8-18 December, 2016. Playing their third finals, Indians had last won in 2001. This was India’s 4th semifinal and 3rd semifinal in the 11th edition of Junior Hockey World Cup. Check Indian squad, performance, history and complete results of current World Cup and also 2001 World Cup when they won first time.

Indian Squad for 2016 World Cup

    Captain: Harjeet Singh
    Goalkeepers: Vikas Dahiya, Krishan Pathak
    Others: Harmanpreet Singh, Vikramjit Singh, Varun Kumar, Simranjeet Singh, Armaan Qureshi, Mandeep Singh, Dipsan Tirkey, Parvinder Singh, Manpreet (Jnr)), Gurjant Singh, Sumit, Santa Singh, Gurinder Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Ajit Pandey

Indians scored 17 goals and conceded 8. It was a great display of unique team effort as in every match different players scored the goals, and the goalkeeper Vikas Dahiya winning the semifinals for India saving 3 penalty strokes of Aussies.
Indian Goalscorers

    3 Mandeep, Harmanpreet, Simranjeet
    2 Varun, Gurjant
    1 Ajit, Parvinder, Qureshi, Harjeet

Match Results of India in 2016

    Pool D: India topped the group with all three wins scoring 11 goals and conceding just 4.
    Dec 8: Def Canada 4-0 (1 each: Mandeep, Harmanpreet, Varun, Ajit)
    Dec 10: Def England 5-3 (1 each: Parvinder, Qureshi, Harmanpreet, Simranjeet, Varun)
    Dec 12: Def South Africa 2-1 (1 each: Harjeet, Mandeep)
    Dec 15: Quarterfinals: Def Spain 2-1 (1 each: Simranjeet, Harmanpreet)
    Dec 15: Semifinals: Def Australia 4-2 (2-2) (1 each: Gurjant, Mandeep) (Penalties: Harjeet, Harmanpreet, Sumit, Manpreet)
    Dec 18: Final: Def Belgium 2-1 (1 each: Gurjant, Simranjeet)

Individual Awards in 2016 World Cup

    Best Player of the Tournament: Enrique Gonzalez de Castijon (Spain’s captain
    Goalkeeper of the Tournament: Loic van Doren (Belgium)
    Top Scorer of the Tournament: 8 goals by Edward Horler (England)
    Up & Coming U19 Player of the Tournament: Timm Herzbruch (GER)
    Fair Play Award: New Zealand
    Fans Choice Award: Harmanpreet Singh (IND)

Final Ranking

    Gold medal India
    Silver medal Belgium
    Bronze medal Germany
    4 Australia
    5 Argentina
    6 Spain
    7 Netherlands
    8 England
    9 New Zealand
    10 South Africa
    11 Malaysia
    12 Austria
    13 Japan
    14 South Korea
    15 Egypt
    16 Canada

India’s last win was at Hobart, Australia in 2001 when they defeated Argentina 6-1 in the final. Indians finished Runners up in 1997 at Milton Keynes England where they lost to Australia 2-3 in the final. In 2005, India finished 4th losing to Spain on penalty strokes in Bronze medal match.

Indian Performance in 2001

    Top scorer of Tournament 2001: Deepak Thakur with 10 goals
    Best Goalkeeper of 2001: Devesh Chauhan


    Pool C 1: Def Canada 5-0
    Pool C 2: Def Scotland 7-1
    Pool C 3: Def Spain 3-0
    Semifinals: Def Germany 3-2 (Extra Time)
    Finals: Def Argentina 6-1

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.