India in Australia to Play 4 Match Hockey Series

Asian Champion Indian Men’s Hockey team has reached Perth to play a 4-test series against the hosts. From 4th November to 10th November they will play 4 games. The tour is intended to provide practice to the teams for the Champions Trophy, which will be held in India. India has lost 4-0 to Australia in Glasgow 2014 Final. Indian U-21 defeated Australian U-21 6-2 in Sultan of Johor Cup 2014.

Indians Def Australia 3-1 in the Test Series

Matches will start at 4.30 p.m. IST on 4,5,8 and 9 November. Indians played a practice game against a West Australian side in Perth on November 1.

Sardar Singh is the captain of the 21-member squad. PR Sreejesh is the main goalkeeper.

Squad Changes
Although the team mostly comprises of the Asian Games winner squad, still there are few changes.

Gurwinder Singh Chandi has been replaced by Lalit Upadhyay. Mandeep Singh has made a dramatic come back to replace Ramandeep Singh. Goalie Harjot Singh, fullback Gurjinder Singh, SK Uthappa and Satbir Singh have also returned.

Indian Squad for the Series

    Squad: Goalkeepers: P.R. Sreejesh, Harjot Singh; defenders: Gurbaj Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, V.R. Raghunath, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Gurjinder Singh, Harbir Singh Sandhu; midfielders: Manpreet Singh, S.K. Uthappa, Sardar Singh, Dharamvir Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Satbir Singh; forwards: Nikkin Thimmaiah, S.V. Sunil, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay.

Austrailian Squad for First Match:

    Daniel Beale, Craig Boyne, Kiel Brown, Andrew Charter,
    Matthew Dawson, Tim Deavin, Jeremy Edwards, Matt Gohdes, Jeremy Hayward, Tyler Lovell, Eddie Ockenden, Flynn Ogilvie, Glenn Simpson, Jake Whetton, Tristan White, Matthew Willis, Dylan Wotherspoon, Aran Zalewski

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.