India International Challenge: Ruthvika Shivani Gadde Wins 2nd Title, Lakshya Sen Finishes Runners up

After Welsh International, for the second consecutive Indian Women won a title as Indians won 41st title of 2017. Ruthvika Shivani Gadde won her 2nd India International Open Challenge after winning her first title in 2014. This is the 7th instance of Indian winning Men’s Singles title in 10 editions of Tata Open India International Challenge that started in 2008. Lakshya Sen finished Runners up in Men’s Singles, where Indians have won 7 titles in 10 editions. He lost to unseeded opponent from Thailand who knocked out top seed Sourabh Verma in 2nd Round. The tournament did not have Mixed Doubles event in current edition. PC Thulasi has also won the tournament twice, while Sindhu has won in 2010. Ritupurna Das was the top seed in Women’s Singles.

8th seed Ruthvika defeated 2nd seed Sri Krishna Priya Kudaravalli in Quarterfinals, while top seed Ritupurna Das lost to Ira Sharma in quarterfinals. Ira Sharma was knocked out by qualifier Riya Mukherjee, who finished Runners up.

Route to Title for 8th seed Ruthvika Shivani Gadde

    Final: def Riya Mukherjee 21-12 23-21
    SF: def Thinaah M (Malaysia) 21-17 21-9
    QF: def 2nd seed Sri Krishna Priya Kudaravalli 17-21 21-10 21-17
    Round 2: def Fan ka Yan (Hong Kong) 14-21 21-12 21-10
    Round 1: def Purva Barve 21-6 21-12

Route to Runners up for 6th seed Lakshya Sen

    Final: Lost to Sitthikom Thammasin (Thailand) 15-21 21-14 21-19
    SF: def 2nd seed Abhishek Yelegar 21-10 21-12
    QF: def Siddharth Pratap Singh 21-8 21-14
    Round 2: def Swarnaraj Bora 21-11 21-17
    Round 1: def Han Chong (Malaysia) 21-23 21-10 21-18

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.