India Sends A Developmental Team to Azlan Shah Cup

Indian coach Nobbs has decided to rest 6 senior players and try junior players to give them better exposure for the preparation of Junior World Cup that India will be hosting. India starts its campaign on 9th March playing first game against Australia. While Malaysia is the only team to have never won the cup and India could not reach the final last year, the new experiment baffles the Hockey fans.

Schedule and Results
List of Past Winners

Indian Squad
Captain: Danish Mujtaba
Vice-Captain: P.R. Sreejesh
Goal Keeper: P.R. Sreejesh
Others: Sushant Tirkey, Rupinderpal Singh, Harbir Singh, Gurjinder Singh, Amit Rohidas, Gurmail Singh, Manpreet Singh, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, MB Aiyappa, Nithin Thimmaiah, Satbir Singh, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Dharamvir Singh, Gurvinder Singh Chandi

Participating Teams

    New Zealand (Defending Champion)
    Australia (record 6 time champions, 1983, 1998, 2004, 2005, 2007,2011)
    India (5 time champion, 1985, 1991, 1995, 2009, 2010-Joint)
    Pakistan (3 time champion, 1999, 2000, 2003)
    Korea (2 time Champion 1996, 2010-joint)
    New Zealand (Defending Champion of 2012)
    Malaysia (Runners up thrice 1985, 2007, 2009)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.