India Won Three Titles at Syed Modi International Challenge, for the second time

Syed Modi International 2017 winners

PV Sindhu turned third time lucky at Syed Modi International as she started her 2017 journey with a title. Twice before she has finished Runners up at the Syed Modi International 2017. Sikki Reddy with Pranaav Jerry Chopra and Sameer Verma were the other two Indians to win, as India won three titles in one event of Syed Modi International for the second time, after 2009. Ashwini Ponnappa on the other hand finished Runners up in two events as she reached the finals first time at the event. On the final day, as three top seeds (including two danish pairs) and one second seed won the titles, 3 titles were grabbed by the host India, while 2 went to Denmark. The super Sunday for Badminton India saw 4th title as Subhankar Dey won Iceland Open too, adding to Saina Nehwal’s Malaysian Masters title.

Indian Winners and Runners up at Syed Modi International
Syed Modi International 2017 Indian results: Semis, Quarterfinals

Sikki Reddy and Pranaav Jerry Chopra won their third title together after winning Brazil Open and Russian Open in 2016. For Sameer Verma, this is the 6th International title. He has won Bahrain International and Bahrain International Challenge twice (both in 2013 and 2015) and Tata India International in 2015. He was the Runners up in Hong Kong Open 2016.

Final Results of Syed Modi International 2017

    MS 8th seed Sameer Verma def 9th seed Sai Praneeth 21-19 21-16 in 44 minutes
    XD Pranaav Jerry Chopra/ def 7th seed Sumeeth Reddy / Ashwini Ponnappa 22-20 21-10 in 40 minutes
    WS PV Sindhu def Mariska (Indonesia) 21-13 21-14 in 30 minutes
    WD Ashwini Ponnappa / Sikki Reddy lost to top seed Kamilla / Christinna (Denmark) 21-16 21-18 in 38 minutes
    MD Top seed Mathias Boe / Carsten Mogensen (Denmark) def 8th seed Ching / Yang (Taipei) 21-14 21-15 in 41 minutes

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.