India@CWG 2018: Table Tennis Is 5th Best Sports for India with 12 Medals

As Indian Table Tennis Women’s Team is set to play their second Commonwealth Games final, do you know that Table Tennis is the 5th highest medal winner for India at CWG? Unlike other top four Sports, Table Tennis started only in 2002 and Indians are overall third best in CWG Table Tennis winning 12 medals that include 3 Gold medals. Sharath Achanta Kamal and Mouma Das have been the veterans who have participated in multiple events and are still going strong. Women’s Team have already won a Silver and Bronze and will target revenge in the final as they lost 2010 Commonwealth final to Singapore. Let us check the history of Indian Table Tennis at CWG as Indian paddlers are set to add further medals in Commonwealth Games 2018.

Indian Women’s Table Tennis Performance at CWG 2018

Medal History of all Games
Indian Contingent and All Squads at 2018 Commonwealth Games
Indian Schedule and Results by Day
Indian Schedule and Results by Sports

Indian Table Tennis Summary at Commonwealth Games

    4 Gold, 2 Silver and 7 Brone medals make them third best, just behind Singapore and England, at Commonwealth Games.
    12 medals at Commonwealth make TT India’s 5th most successful Sports after Shooting, Weightlifting, Wrestling and Athletics.
    5 Maximum medals won at 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games
    1st Gold won at 2006 Australian Commonwealth Games
    1st Medal won at 2002 Manchester Commonwealth Games
    3 Maximum Gold won by Sharath Achanta Kamal (1 Singles, 1 Doubles and 1 Men’s Team)
    No Gold for Women in any event

Current Indian Table Tennis Squads, Schedule and Results

Table Tennis became part of Commonwealth in 2002. In its inaugural edition, Indian squad won three Bronze medals. Next year at Australia they impressed further with twin Gold medals followed by 5 medals in 2010. At Glasgow 2014, the team could win just a Silver. Yet, for India Table Tennis is already the 5th highest medal winning Sports and overall Indian is third most successful nation in Commonwealth Games.

Gold Medals: 3

    2006: Sharath Achanta in Men’s Singles
    2006: Men’s Team Event
    2010: Subhajit Saha & Achanta Sharath Kamal Men’s doubles

Silver Medals: 2

    2010: Mouma Das, Poulomi Ghatak & Shamini Kumaresan in Women’s team
    2014 Achanta Sharath Kamal/Arputhraj Anthony – Men’s Doubles

Bronze Medals

    2002 Men’s Singles: Chetan Baboor
    2002 Men’s Doubles: Subramaniam Raman & Chetan Baboor
    2002 Men’s Team: Chetan Baboor, Sourav Chakraborty, Soumyadeep Roy, Subhajit Saha & Subramanian Raman
    2006: Women’s Team Event
    2010: Women’s Doubles: Mouma Das and Poulomi Ghatak
    2010: Men’s Singles: Achanta Sharath Kamal
    2010: Sharath Kamal Achanta, Amalraj Anthony & Abhishek Ravichandran
    (Men’s team)

Medals by events:

    MS: 1 Gold, 2 Bronze
    WS: None
    MD: 1 Gold, 1 Silver, 1 Bronze
    WD: 1 Silver, 1 Bronze
    Men’s Team: 1 Gold, 2 Bronze
    Women’s team: 1 Silver, 1 Bronze

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.