Indian Badminton Performance in 2017

Indians have won 42 titles in multiple international events of 2017 till Dec 17, including seven Super Series and also won 2 medals in World Badminton Championships. Indians created history of having both finalists in the same event of a Super Series tournament. Check all the results of Indian Badminton in 2017.

Indian Performance in 2016
PBL 2017 Results
Indian titles at Super Series


    World Badminton Championships: 2 Medals
    Superseries: 6
    Winners: MS: 14, WS: 12, MD: 9, WD: 2, XD: 2
    All Indian Finals: MS: 3, WS: 4, XD: 3, MD: 2
    Junior: 2 WS, 1 MD
    Multiple Titles in Same Tournament:

      Ritika Thaker won 2 titles in same tournament making it All Indian Women’s Singles final with her Doubles partner Simran Singhi.
      K Nandagopal won Men’s and Mixed Doubles at Ukraine International.
      Parul Dalsukhbhai Parmar won Women’s Singles and Women’s Doubles at Para-Badminton World Championships 2017

    World Record:
    Srikanth Kidambi became the 4th in World and first Indian to win 4 Super Series title in a calendar year.
    Srikanth Kidambi became the 4th player to reach three consecutive Super Series finals. He lost first to Sai Praneeth, won remaining 2.


    1. Malaysian Masters Challenge (Jan 17-22): Saina Nehwal (WS)
    2. Iceland Open: MS Subhankar Dey
    3. Syed Modi International Challenge: Sindhu (WS), Sameer Verma (MS), Sikki Reddy / Pranaav Jerry Chopra (Mixed Doubles)
    4. Iran International Challenge: Arjun MR / Shlok Ramachandran (Men’s Doubles)
    5. Uganda International: Francis Alwin / Kona Tarun in Men’s Doubles
    6. Jamaica Junior International 2017: Venkatesh Parasad / Jagadish yadav (Men’s Doubles)
    7. Portuguese International: MS Subhankar Dey
    8. Vietnam International: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty
    9. India Open Super Series 2017: PV Sindhu
    10. Singapore Open Super Series: Sai Praneeth
    11. Dutch Open: Anand Pawar in Men’s Singles
    12. Peru International Challenge: Francis Alwin / Kona Tarun in Men’s Doubles
    13. Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold: Sai Praneeth
    14. Indonesia Open Super Series Premier: Srikanth Kidambi
    15. Mauritius International: Shikha Gautam (WS)
    16. Australian Open Super Series: Srikanth Kidambi
    17. Guatemala Future Series: Karan Rajan Rajarajan (MS)
    18. Ivory Coast International: Ritika Thaker (WS)
    19. Ivory Coast International: Ritika Thaker/Simran Singhi (WD)
    20. Benin International: Sahil Sipani
    21. US Open Grand Prix Gold: HS Prannoy
    22. Lagos International: Sumeeth Reddy / Manu Atri
    23. Bulgarian Open: Lakshya Sen (MS)
    24. Hellas Open 2017 Winner: Rohan Kapoor / Kuhoo Garg
    25. Ukraine International Challenge:: Nandagopal / Rohan Kapoor (Men’s Doubles)
    26. Ukraine International Challenge: Nandagopal / Mahima Aggarwal
    27. Japan Para-Badminton International: Parul Dalsukhbhai Parmar (WS SL 3)
    28. Korea Open Super Series: PV Sindhu
    29. Belgian Junior: Vaishnavi Jakka Reddy (WS-U19)
    30. Bulgarian International: MS RMV Gurusaidutt
    31. Bulgarian International: Men’s Doubles – Arun George and Sanyam Shukla
    32. Badminton Asia U17 & U15 Junior Championships 2017: Women’s Singles U15 – Samiya Imad Farooqui
    33. Denmark Open Super Series 2017: Srikanth Kidambi
    34. French Open 2017 Super Series:Srikanth Kidambi
    35. Para-Badminton World Championships 2017: WS Parul Dalsukhbhai Parmar
    36. Para-Badminton World Championships 2017: WD Parul Dalsukhbhai Parmar (With Akiko Sugino from Japan)
    37. India International Series 2017: Lakshya Sen
    38. India International Series 2017: Tanishq Mamilla Palli in WS
    39. India International Series 2017: Arun George / Sanyam Shukla
    40. Welsh International Challenge: Tanvi Lad
    41. India International Challenge: Ruthvika Shivani Gadde
    42. Asian Youth Para Games 2017: Arati Janoba Patil (WS SU 5)`

Runners Up:

    1. Syed Modi International Challenge: WD Sikki Reddy / Ashwini Ponnappa, Sumeeth Reddy / Ashwini Ponnappa (Mixed Doubles), Sai Praneeth (MS)
    2. Dutch Junior Open: Krishna Prasad Garaga and Dhruv Kapila (Men’s Doubles)
    3. German Junior 2017: MS Lakshya Sen
    4. Singapore Open Super Series: Srikanth Kidambi
    5. Mauritius International: Sanyogita Ghorpade / Prajakta Sawant (WD)
    6. Mauritius International: Anura Prabhudesai (WS)
    7. Ivory Coast International: Simran Singhi (WS)
    8. Malaysia International Series: K. Nandagopal / Mahima Aggarwal (XD)
    9. Cameroon International: Sahil Sipani
    10. US Open Grand Prix Gold: Parupalli Kashyap
    11. PV Sindhu, Saina Nehwal: Silver and Bronze medal in 2017 World Badminton Championships
    12. Hellas Open 2017: Utkarsh Arora / Karishma Wadkar
    13. Ukraine International Challenge: Sai Krishna Priya Kudaravalli (WS)
    14. Ukraine International Challenge: Francis Alwin / Tarun Kona (MD)
    15. Ukraine International Challenge: Saurabh Sharma / Anoushka Parikh (XD)
    16. Japan Para-Badminton International: Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj (MS SL 4)
    17. Polish Open: Maneesha K / Arathi Sara Sunil (Women’s Doubles)
    18. Bulgarian International: Sanyam Shukla and Ahillya Harjani
    19. U19 Slovak Junior 2017: Vaishnavi Reddy Jakka
    20. Hong Kong Open Super Series: PV Sindhu
    21. Para-Badminton World Championships 2017: MS SL3 Manoj Sarkar
    22. Para-Badminton World Championships 2017: MS SL 4 Tarun
    23. India International Series 2017: Rohan Kapoor / Kuhoo Garg in XD
    24. India International Series 2017: Shikha Gautam in WS
    25. India International Series 2017: Francis Alwin / Nandagopal in MD
    26. Welsh International Challenge: Gurusaidutt
    27. India International Challenge: Lakshya Sen
    28. Asian Youth Para Games 2017: Chirag Baretha / Rahul Kumar Verma (MD SU 5)
    29. Asian Youth Para Games 2017: Nilesh Balu Gaikwad (MS SL 4)
    30. World Super Series Finals 2017: PV Sindhu

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.