Indian Record in Nehru Cup

In 2012, Indians registered third consecutive Nehru Cup since its revival in 2007. But from 1982 inaugural tournament to 1997 they had an average record where the best finish was only a semifinal entry. Here is the complete record of Indian performance in Nehru Cup.

History of Nehru Cup
2012 Nehru Cup: Fixture and Results
2012 Nehru Cup Points Table
2012 Nehru Cup Goal Scorers

Inaugural 1982
When Uruguay won the opening tournament, India finished just above Yugoslavia.

    Won 2-1 vs Yugoslavia
    Drew 1-1 vs China
    Drew 2-2 vs South Korea
    Lost 0-1 vs Italy
    Lost 1-3 vs Uruguay.

Till 1997 Indian performance never rose to a high. But, with the revival in 2007, Indians emerged winner for the two consectuvie tournaments, winning the 2007 and 2009 Nehru Cup.

2007 Nehru Cup
Under the captaincy of Baichung Bhutia, India finished 2nd at group stage, but took revenge against Syria in the final. Indians won 3 and lost 1, scored 12 goals and conceded 3 goals. Pradeep scored the solitary goal in the final. Overall 6 Indian players found the net.
Indian Goal scorers

    4 Chhetri
    3 Bhutia
    2 Dias, Pradeep
    1 Ajayan, Yadav

Indian Results

    6-0 vs Cambodia
    1-0 vs Bangladesh
    2-3 vs Syria
    3-0 Kyrgyzstan
    1-0 vs Syria in final

2009 Nehru Cup
India lost two matches and won two to proceed to the final. They could scored only 5 goals at league stage and conceded 4 goals.

Indian Goal scorers

    3 Bhutia
    1 Chhetri, Sukumar, Gouramangi, Dias, Renedy

Indian Results

    0-1 vs Lebanon
    2-1 vs Kyrgyzstan
    3-1 vs Sri Lankna
    0-1 vs Syria
    1-1 (5-4) vs Syria in Final

Bhutia was declared Player of the Tournament.

2012 Nehru Cup
India defeated Camroon in the final.
Indian Results

    India def Syria 2-1
    India def Maldives 3-0
    India drew Nepal 0-0
    India lost to Cameroon 1-0
    Final – India def Cameroon 2-2 (5-4)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.