IPL 2014 Team Profile: Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals gave the perfect start to the launch of Indian Premier League by winning when they were considered the weakest team of the tournament. Yet, since then they struggled unless Dravid arrived as captain getting them to the unexpected semifinal. Amidst all the transitions from one magician (Warne) to other (Dravid), Watson played magical innings on the ground and whenever he played well, Rajasthan won. Now, he has additional responsibility of captaining too. Check their record of last 6 IPLs, their current squad and the bidding rate for every player in 2014.

Indian Premier League 2014: Schedule
Rajasthan Royals Matches and Results in 2013
IPL 2013 Team Statistics: Rajasthan Royals
IPL 2014 Report Card: Rajasthan Royals Third at Half Way

Watson is still with the team, Warne has left, Pathan moved to KKR, Jadeja is a Superstar playing for CSK and other good players failed to grow up. Their internal issues have also added to the pressure. The team still offers a combination of youth and experience. But it will be the trio of oldies (when compared to other teams) Brad Hodge, Watson, and Binny alongwith Samson and Pravin Tambe (42 years) who would guide the team full of youngsters. 2012 saw them so close to get 2nd entry to semifinal. In 2013 they lost the eliminator. What is in store now under fiery Watson!!

Memorable Tale
Before CLT20 started they had the unique distinction of playing English T20 Champions Middlesex Crusaders in one match British Asian Cup. As IPL champ they established superiority winning by 46 runs. After scoring 162/5, they restricted Middlesex to 116/7.

RR’s Record Against IPL Teams
CSK= Chennai Super Kings, DD=Delhi Daredevils, KKR= Kolkata Knight Riders, KTK=Kochi Tuskers Kerala, KXIP=Kings XI Punjab, MI=Mumbai Indians, PWI=Pune Warriors, RCB=Royal Challengers Bangalore, RR=Rajasthan Royals, SRH= Sunrisers Hyderabad

Win:Loss:No Result
x=No result

Team 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 Total
DD 2:1 1:1 0:2 1:0 0:2 0:2 6:6
KKR 2:0 1:1 1:1 0:2 1:1 1:1 6:6
RCB 2:0 1:1 0:2 X:1 1:1 1:1 5:6:1
KXIP 1:1 1:1 2:0 0:1 2:0 2:0 8:3
CSK 3:0 0:2 1:1 0:2 0:2 1:1 5:8
DC 2:0 1:1 2:0 1:0 1:1 7:2
MI 1:1 1:X 0:2 2:0 0:2 1:1 5:6:1
PWI 1:0 2:0 1:1 4:1
KTK 1:1 1:1
SRH 1:1 1:1
10 13:3 6:7:1 6:8 6:7:1 7:9 11:7 49:41:2

Rajasthan Royals Squad

    Owner: Shilpa Shetty, Raj Kundra, Lachlan Murdoch
    Coach: Paddy Upton
    Mentor: Rahul Dravid
    Captain: Shane Watson
    Wicketkeeper: Sanju Samson, Dishant Yagnik
    Batsmen: Brad Hodge, Unmukt Chand, Ankush Bains, Karun Nair, Ajinkya Rahane
    Allrounders: Rajat Bhatia, Stuart Binny, James Faulkner, Iqbal Abdulla, Abhishek Nayar, Steven Smith
    Bowlers: Kevon Cooper, Ben Cutting, Kane Richardson, Tim Southee, Pravin Tambe, Dhawal Kulkarni, Vikramjeet Malik, Ankit Sharma, Amit Mishra (Medium Fast bowler), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tewatia
    Retained: Sanju Samson, Ajinkya Rahane, James Faulkner, Shane Watson, Stuart Binny

Bid Rate of Players by Rajasthan Royals

    Australia: Steven Smith (4 crore), Brad Hodge (2.4 crore), Ben Cutting (80 lakh), Ben Dunk (20 lakh), Shane Watson (retained)
    India: Ajinkya Rahane (retained)
    West Indies: Kevon Cooper (30 lakh), Rahul Tewatia (10 lakh), Stuart Binny (retained), James Faulkner (retained)
    NZ: Tim Southee (1.2 crore), Kane Richardson (1 crore), Deepak Hooda (40 lakh), Vikramjeet Malik (20 lakh), Amit Mishra (10 lakh)
    Uncapped: Rajat Bhatia (1.7 crore), Abhishek Nayar (1 crore), Karun Nair (75 lakh), Iqbal Abdullah (65 lakh), Unmukt Chand (65 lakh),
    Dishank Yagnik (30 lakh), Ankit Sharma (10 lakh), Pravin Tambe (10 lakh), Ankush Bains (10 lakh), Sanju Samson (retained)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.