IPL Records: In 17 Hattricks, Amit Mishra is the King, Rajasthan the Leader

As Badree grabbed the first hattrick of IPL 2017, Andrew Tye made it the first time for IPL to have seen two hattricks in a day (April 14, 2017). For both it was the debut match at IPL. Unadkat joined the party too in 2017. Indian Premier League witnessed 17th hattrick in 10 editions. Pravin Tambe grabbed the first hattrick of IPL 2014. Amit Mishra had the second hattrick of IPL and his third, most by any IPL bowler, on the very next day after Narine grabbed the first hattrick of IPL 2013. Here is the list of hattricks and records associated with IPL hattricks.

Indian Premier League 2017: Schedule and Results
Team Records

    Biggest Wins by Runs and Wickets
    Narrowest Wins
    Biggest Team Scores
    Lowest Score

Batting Records

    1000 run Club
    Maximum Sixes, 100+ Partnerships

Bowling Records

    Highest Wickets
    Top Ten Bowling Performances

List of 17 Hattricks

    Shane Watson (RR) vs SRH in 2014, Ahmedabad.
    Pravin Tambe (RR) vs KKR in 2014
    Balaji (CSK) vs KXIP in 2008
    Amit Mishra (DD) vs DC in 2008
    Ntini (CSK) vs KKR in 2008
    Yuvraj (KXIP) vs RCB in 2009
    Rohit Sharma (DC) vs MI in 2009
    Yuvraj (KXIP) vs DC in 2009
    Praveen Kumar (RCB) vs RR in 2010
    Chandila (RR) vs PWI in 2012
    Sunil Narine (KKR) vs Kings XI in 2013
    Amit Mishra (SH) vs PWI in 2013
    Axar Patel (KXIP) vs Gujarat Lions 2016
    Samuel Badree (RCB) vs MI, 2017 Bengaluru
    Andrew James Tye (GL) vs RPS, 2017 Rajkot
    Unadkat (RPS) vs SRH, Hyderabad 2017

Bowlers Taking Hattrick More than Once

    3- Amith Misra (For DD, DC and SRH)
    2- Yuvraj Singh (For KXIP)

Yearwise Hattricks

    2008 – 4
    2009 – 2
    2010 – 1
    2011 – 1
    2012 – 1
    2013 – 2
    2014 – 2
    2016 – 1
    2017 – 3

Hattricks Taken by Teams

    3 – RR, KXIP
    2 – CSK, DC, RCB
    1- DD, KKR, SRH, GL, RPS

Hattricks Taken Against Teams

    3 – KXIP
    2- KKR, DC, PWI, MI, SRH
    1 – RCB, RR, GL, RPS

Facts about IPL Hattricks

    1. Ntini is the only bowler to have taken hattrick without help, all bowled.
    2. 6 hattricks were taken by fast bowlers, 11 by spinners.
    3. 11 hattricks were completed in one over, other 6 spilled to next over.
    4. Rohit Sharma is the youngest (22 years 6 days) to take a hattrick.
    5. Pravin Tambe is the oldest (43 years) to take a hattrick.
    6. Watson, Yuvraj, Narine and Badree’s hattricks are in losing causes.
    7. Amit Mishra’s hattrick vs PWI in 2013 had 4 wickets in the over.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.