IPL Team Profile: Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers were 2009 IPL winner and represented Hyderabad till 2011. They were part of IPL for first 5 editions. From 2012 they were replaced by Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Player’s Performances in 2011
IPL 2014 Schedule and Results

They started as one of the strongest team in first edition of IPL. Under VVS Laxman they failed to taste success and finished at the bottom of the table. Under Gilchrist in 2009, they laid hands on trophy in South Africa, when they appeared a hopeless team. In 2010, good performance continued and they finished 4th after losing the semifinal.

2008 Performance: 2 Win, 12 Losses
The opening edition they would like to forget as bad dream when starting as favorite, they could just win 2 games, one against Chennai Super Kings and other against Mumbai Indians. Losing 12 match in one season is the worst record of any team in three editions.

2009 Performance: 9 Won, 7 Lost
The winner of the tournament, DC won both group matches against Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians. They lost both group matches to Kings XI and Delhi Daredevils, but won the semifinal match against DD. Against Rajasthan Royals, Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore DC had even record, and emerged winner against RCB in the final.

2010 Performance: 8 Won, 8 Lost
DC won both the group matches against Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI, Cheannai Super Kings, and Royal Challengers Bangalore, but lost the semifinal and 3rd place matches against CSK and RCB, respectively. They also lost both group matches to Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals.

2011 and 2012 were forgettable editions for them.

Overall Performance: 29 Win, 46 Losses
They have the worst record by any team in five editions of IPL.

Record Against IPL Teams
CSK= Chennai Super Kings, DD=Delhi Daredevils, KKR= Kolkata Knight Riders, KTK=Kochi Tuskers Kerala, KXIP=Kings XI Punjab, MI=Mumbai Indians, PWI=Pune Warriors, RCB=Royal Challengers Bangalore, RR=Rajasthan Royals, SRH= Sunrisers Hyderabad

Win:Loss:No Result
x=No result

Team 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 Total
DD 0:2 1:2 2:0 1:1 0:2 3:7
RR 0:2 1:1 0:2 0:1 1:1 2:7
KKR 0:2 2:0 0:2 0:2 X:1 2:7:1
RCB 0:2 2:1 2:1 1:0 1:1 6:5
CSK 1:1 1:1 2:1 0:1 0:2 4:6
KXIP 0:2 0:2 2:0 1:1 0:2 3:7
MI 1:1 2:0 0:2 1:1 0:2 4:5
PWI 1:1 1:0 2:1
KTK 1:0 1:0
9 2:12 9:7 8:8 6:8 4:11 29:46

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.