Kabaddi World Cup 2016: 2 Time Champions India vs 2 Time Runners up Iran in Standard World Cup

India meets Iran for the third consecutive time in the final of the third Kabaddi World Cup (Standard Style). India has emerged winner both times. Besides the two Standard Style two titles, India has also won all the five Circle Style Kabaddi World Cup where they have defeated Canada once and Pakistan on four occasions in the 5 tournaments. In Circle Style, Iran has reached the semifinal only once, in 2012 where they finished 4th.

Complete Schedule and Results of Kabaddi World Cup 2016
2016 Kabaddi World Cup Team Pages: India
World Cup Results: 2004, 2007

Results of Previous Two World Cup Finals of Standard Kabaddi World Cup

    2004 India def Iran 55-27
    2007 India def Iran 29-19

Road to 2016 Kabaddi World Cup Finals for Both teams
India: Pool A: India, Australia, Bangladesh, Argentina, England, South Korea
Lost 1st match, won remaining, finished 2nd behind Korea at Group

    1. India lost to Korea 32-34
    2. India def Australia 54-20
    3. India def Bangladesh 57-20
    4. India def Argentina 74-20
    5. India def England 69-18
    SF: India def Thailand

Iran: Pool B: Iran, USA, Poland, Kenya, Thailand, Japan
Lost last Group match, won remaining, finished 2nd behind Thailand at Group

    1. Iran def USA 52-15
    2. Iran def Thailand 64-23
    3. Iran def Kenya 33-28
    4. Iran def Japan 38-34
    5. Iran lost to Poland 25-41
    SF: Iran def Korea 28-22

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.