Malaysian Masters 2017 Day 1: Enter 2nd Round, 4 Lose, Saina, Ajay, Doubles Teams Start Campaign on Day 2

Pratul Joshi, Harsheel Dani

Indians participated in Qualification matches and in 7 Men’s Singles matches of Round 1 of Day 1. None of the five Indians could qualify for the main draw, while 2016 Bahrain International champion Pratul Joshi, Harsheel Dani and Hemanth moved to Round 2. Four Indians lost in the first round. Top seed Saina, 6th seed Ajay Jayaram, 3rd seed Manu / Sumeeth start campaign tomorrow with 4 Mixed Doubles that include Ashwini Ponnappa, Siki Reddy, Jwala Gutta, 2 Women’s Doubles and 4 Men’s Doubles team. Check the results of Day 1 and schedule of Day 2 (Jan 18) with time in IST.

Indian Contingent for Malaysian Masters 2017
PV Sindhu Won Malaysian Masters 2016

Day 1 Results

    Mixed Doubles: Balasubramannian Narendran Geetha/Haritha Manazhiyil Harinarayanan: Lost in 1st Round
    Mixed Doubles: S Sunjith (jr)/Sruthi KP: Lost in 1st Round
    Women’s Singles: Sai Uttejitha Rao CHUKKA: Lost in 1st Round
    Men’s Singles: Munawar Mohammed: Lost in 2nd Round of Qualification
    Men’s Doubles: Balasubramannian Narendran Geetha/S Sunjith (jr): Lost in 1st Round

Day 1 Round 1 Men’s Singles

    Harsheet Dani def Zii Jia Lee (Malaysia) 21-19 21-17 in 31 minutes
    Rahul Yadav lost to Hsuan Yi (Taipei) 21-16 21-11
    Abhishek Yelegar lost to 3rd seed Zulfadli (Malaysia) 21-13 21-14
    Siril Verma lost to Pannawit (Thailand) 21-10 18-21 21-17 in 50 minutes
    Pratul Joshi def Zin Rei (Indonesia) 15-21 21-16 24-22 in 48 minutes
    Aditya Joshi lost to Wisnu (Indonesia) 22-20 21-18 in 48 minutes
    Hemanth M Gowda def Yehezkiel (Indonesia) 21-14 21-15 in 29 minutes

Day 2 Schedule for Indians

    6.15 AM MS Ajay Jayaram vs Jun Hao Leong
    7.20 AM WD Sruthi/Haritha vs Malaysian pair
    8:00 AM XD Sumeeth Reddy / Ashwini Ponnappa vs 6th seed Indonesian pair
    8.55 AM XD Manu Attri / Jwala Gutta vs Indonesian Pair
    9.35 AM XD Prajakta Sawant / Yogendra (Malaysia) vs Hong Kong Pairr
    10 PM XD Satwiksairaj / Maneesha vs Hong Kong Pairr
    12 PM WS Top Seed Saina Nehwal vs Chasinee (Thailand)
    12.55 PM MS Hemanth Gowda vs Chun-Wei Chen (Taipei) (Round 2)
    2.00 PM WD Aparna Balan / Prajakta Sawant vs Indonesian Pair
    3.20 PM MD Satwiksairaj / Chirag Shetty vs Malaysian pair
    3.35 PM MS Pratul Joshi vs TBD (Round 2)
    4.15 PM MS Harsheel Dan vs TBD (Round 2)
    4.40 PM WS Sri Krishna Priya vs TBD (Round 2)
    4.55 PM MD 3rd seed Manu Attri / Sumeeth Reddy vs Malaysian pair
    6.15 PM MD Arjun / Ramchandran Shlok vs Malaysian pair
    6.40 PM MD Francis Alwin / Tarun Kona vs Indonesia pair

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.