Match 39 Preview: Chargers challenge Super Kings

Two champions, Deccan Chargers and Chennai Super Kings, are set to increase the evening temperature of Chennai today. DC is placed just behind CSK in the points table. A win can take CSK to top three, while another win can get DC in the big league.

They have met 7 times in last 3 edtions. While in 2008 and 2009 they shared a win each, 2010 saw DC winning both group matches but losing the crucial semifinal match.

2011 Performances
Chennai Super Kings had a balanced and composed tournament so far with 2 victories and 1 loss. The teams looks formiddable, although batting is ruled by Indians till now, except one performance from Hussey. They have snatched victory from the mouth of defeat against Kolkata Knight Riders in firtst match. Kings XI surprised them with the Valthaty hammer, whereas against Royal Chalengers, the comfortable victory brought calm and composed look back on team member’s face. They
were the last victim of Tuskers wonderful campaign and lost comfortably in the rain-curtailed match. Later they also lost to the Group Champion Mumbai Indians, and comfortably won the first match against Pune Warriors, defending a low total. The back-to-back match against Pune Warriors saw CSK making a clinical chase of small total.

Chargers were thrashed by their erstwhile opponent Rajasthan Royals in the first match. Kolkata Knight Riders also defeated them in a close contest. But, playing at home they registered first ever victory trouncing Royal Challengers Bangalore. But, Kings XI Punjab shattered the dream of getting away with home jinx for Chargers when ex-DC captain and biggest assaulter of the tournament Valthaty marooned DC with runs. In their last match, they defeated Daredevils easily. Expected to spoil Sachin’s birthday, Deccan Chargers succumbed to a shameful defeat against Mumbai Indians in their last match. Against Kochi in last match, one of the best IPL bowling performances by Ishant saw DC easily win in the low scoring match.

Player’s Performances
For Chennai, player’s performance index shows Badrinath has been the most consisten in batting. Badrin, Murali Vijay, and Hussey have crossed 200-mark, while Raina and Dhoni are in 100-runs club. Bollinger and Morkel are performing their best. Bowlers have managed to take 34 wickets in 7 matches.
For Deccan, player’s performance index shows Sangakkara and bowlers shining. Sangakkara has crossed 200-barrier, while Chipli, Sohal, Dhawan and Chrisitan have reached 100-run mark. Still, together they have failed to succeed. Bowlers have performed better taking 38 wickets in 7 matches.
Head-to-Head: DC 4, CSK 3

    DC def CSK by 7 Wickets
    CSK def DC by 7 Wickets


    DC def CSK by 6 Wickets
    CSK def DC by 78 Runs


    DC def CSK by 31 R
    DC def CSK by 6 W
    CSK def DC by 38 Runs

Overall IPL Performances
While CSK are the best IPL team of last 3 editions with maximum win-loss ratio, Chargers are the second best team of IPL in terms of result, but have won only 19 matches as compared to 27 losses.

Who Will Win Today!!
Deccan Chargers, from nowhere, have suddenly looked a team of good bowlers at least as Sanga is appearing to be the only dangerous batsman till now. CSK on the other hand has well-settled batting order. THe match will be decided between CSK batsmen and DC bowlers. CSK bowlers may be able to feast on weak DC batting line up, unless Sanga and White stand up with some support from Sohal, Chipli and others. The current success of DC bowlers make DC the favorite in this match.

Key Battles
Steyn/Ishant/Mishra vs CSK order
While these three have been the most successful DC bowlers, specially Ishant looks dangerous after last match. CSK batsmen have been consistent although they can be containted as Kings XI and others have shown.

Sanga Vs Dhoni
They just met in World CUp final and Dhoni emerged on the winning side. Now they are set to play their only group match. Dhoni can extend his winning streak over Sanga even in IPL, while Sanga can at least try to take small revenge.

CSK Squad
Batsmen: Dhoni (Captain), Faf du Plessis, Michael Hussey, Srikkanth Anirudha, Subramaniam Badrinath, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Murali Vijay
Allrounders: Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Scott Styris, Suresh Raina, Yo Mahesh
Bowlers: Tim Southee, Doug Bollinger, Ben Hilfenhaus, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, George Bailey, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shadab Jakati, Joginder Sharma, Abhinav Mukund, Sudeep Tyagi, Kuthethurshri Vasudevadas, Ganapathi Vignesh

DC Squad
Batsman: Kumar Sangakkara (Captain/Keeper), Jean-Paul Duminy, Michael Lumb, Kevin Pietersen, Anand Rajan, Kedar Devdhar, Shikhar Dhawan, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Jaydev Shah, Arjun Yadav
Allrounder: Chris Lynn, Rusty Theron, Cameron White, Ashish Reddy
Bowlers: Dale Steyn, Daniel Christian, Ankit Sharma, Akash Bhandari, Bharat Chipli, Manpreet Gony, Harmeet Singh, Ishank Jaggi, Ishan Malhotra, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Ishant Sharma, Sunny Sohal

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.