Men’s Hockey Asia Cup 2017: Schedule and Results

Dhaka, Bangladesh became the second venue after Kuala Lumpur to host Asia Cup Men’s Hockey twice as the 10th Asia Cup takes place from 2017 October 11-22. Eight teams will lock horns to decide the automatic qualifier for 2018 Hockey World Cup as the winner gets direct entry. Manpreet Singh leads the 18-member Indian team with SV Sunil as his deputy. Check the Indian Squad, Tournament format and schedule.

Asia Cup: History, 2013,
Indian At Asia Cup: Overall Record, Results by Editions, Results by Nation
Asia Cup Hockey 2017: All Statistics, Goal Statistics, Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Classification 5-8, Super 4s 18 oct, Super 4s 19 oct

Indian Squad
Manpreet Singh is the Captain and SV Sunil is the Vice Captain
Chief Coach: Sjoerd Marijne
Director: David John
Goalkeepers: Akash Chikte and Suraj Karkera
Forwards: SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Gurjant Singh, Satbir Singh
Midfielders: SK Uthappa, Sardar Singh, Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Sumit
Defenders: Dipsan Tirkey, Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar

Format: Round Robin and Classification Matches

    1st Round: 4 teams in two pools play 3 matches each to decide pool ranking.
    2nd Round: Top two from both pools in 2nd Round. All four play 3 matches each to decide ranking for finals.
    Classification matches (5th-8th): Bottom two teams of 1st Round from both pools
    Final four: Top two of 2nd Round play final, bottom two play for 3rd place.


    Pool A: Bangladesh, India, Japan, Pakistan
    Pool B: China, Malaysia, Oman, South Korea

Schedule (in IST)
Oct 11 (Pool A)

    14:30 India def Japan 5-1
    17:00 Pakistan def Bangladesh 7-0

Oct 12 (Pool B)

    14:30 Malaysia def China 7-1
    17:00 South Korea def Oman 7-2

Oct 13 (Pool A)

    14:30 Pakistan vs Japan 2-2
    17:00 India def Bangladesh 7-0

Oct 14 (Pool B)

    14:30 China def Oman 2-1
    17:00 Malaysia def South Korea 2-1

Oct 15 (Pool A)

    14:30 Japan def Bangladesh 3-1
    17:00 India def Pakistan 3-1

Oct 16 (Pool B)

    14:30 Malaysia def Oman 7-1
    17:00 South Korea def China 4-1

Classification matches 5-8th Place

    Oct 18 19:30 Japan def Oman 5-3
    Oct 19 19:30 Bangladesh def China 3-3 (4-3)
    Oct 20 7th Place 14:30 China def Oman 3-2
    Oct 20 5th Place 17:00 Japan def Bangladesh 4-0

2nd Round (Top two teams of each group play each other)
18 oct

    14:30 Malaysia def Pakistan 3-2
    17:00 India vs South Korea 1-1 (Gurjant Singh for India)

19 oct

    14:30 South Korea vs Pakistan 1-1
    17:00 India def Malaysia 6-2

21 oct

    14:30 South Korea vs Malaysia 1-1
    17:00 India def Pakistan 4-0

Oct 22: Classification Matches for Top Four

    14:30 3rd Place Pakistan def South Korea 6-3
    17:00 Finals India def Malaysia 2-1

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.