Mumbai Indians: The Finalist Look the Best after Revamp

The Ambani’s team took two editions to learn the trick, but now after the last year’s final and revamp they have the strongest side in the tournament.

The first two editions were average, despite having the destructive duo of Sachin and Jayasruiya added with the trio of Malinga, Harbhajan and Zaheer. With addition of Pollard, the team rocked the 2010 edition, when they reached the final with favorite tag. It took the best team of last three editions, Chennai Super Kings to stop them from winning the final of 2010, where for the first time Mumbai Indians reached the knockout stage.

Besides the exceoptional bowling of the trio of Malinga, Bhaji and Zaheer, and the blitzkrieg rare innings of Pollard, MI has shown exceptional performances when Sachin Tendulkar, their captain, was declared Player of the tournament in 2010.

2008 Performance: 7 win, 7 loss
Sachin Tendulkar’s team just manage to not go on the lower side with more losses. They won both group games to Kolkata Knight Riders, but lost both games against Kings XI, and were even with Chennai Super Kings, Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

2009 Performance: 5 win, 8 loss, 1 NR
Forgettable tournament for them where they lost 8 matches. They again won both group matches against KKR, but could win just three more matches – one each against CSK, Kings XI and RCB.

2010 Performance: 11 Win, 5 Loss
The top-performers of 2010, routed Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils and Rajasthan Royals at group stage in both matches, were even at group stage with CSK, KKR, Kings XI and RCB, whom they defeated in semifinal. They lost the final by 22 runs to CSK.

Overall Performance: 23 Win, 20 Loss, 1 NR
2010 performance have made them one of the top 5 teams of the tournament with a positive win-loss ration in last three editions. Sachin Tendulkar, their captain, was adjudged Man of the Series, despite losing the final in 2010.

Current Hopes
If MI does not win the final, it will be the biggest shocker of 2011. It will take a herculean effort from other teams to stop them from entering the final. A place in semifinal is booked before the start of 2011.

Led by Tendulkar, the batting has powerful strokemakers like Rohit Sharma, Symonds and Pollard. The bowling can be considered one of the best with Malinga and Harbhajan guiding Franklin, Henriques, Fernando, Murtaza and others.

Batsman: Sachin Tendulkar (Captain), Ambati Rayudu, Rajagopal Sathish, Rohit Sharma, Tirumalasetti Suman, Aditya Tare (WK), Davy Jacobs (WK)
Allrounder: James Franklin, Moises Henriques, Kieron Pollard, Andrew Symonds
Bowlers: Aiden Blizzard, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh, Munaf Patel, Abu Nechim, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sarul Kanwar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ali Murtaza, Pawan Suyal, Santosh Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav

Auction Players

    Rohit Sharma $2,000,000
    Andrew Symonds $850,000
    Munaf Patel $700,000
    Davy Jacobs $190,000
    Clint McKay $110,000
    James Franklin $100,000
    Moises Henriques $50,000
    Aiden Blizzard $20,000

Retained Players
Sachin Tendulkar
Harbhajan Singh
Kieron Pollard
Lasith Malinga

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.