New Zealand Open 2017: 2nd Seed Jayaram Knocked Out, 7 Indians Enter Round 2

New Zealand Open, upgraded to Grand Prix Gold again in 2016, after being downgraded to International Challenge in 2011 saw 7 Indians entering the Round 2 while 2nd seed Ajay Jayaram was knocked out. On Day 2, one team each in all doubles event will join the Men’s Singles player. Women’s Singles has no representation from India. The tournament dating back to 1990 has seen only one title for Indians so far when Rupesh Kumar and Sanave Thomas won 2009 Men’s Doubles event.

Indian Badminton Performance in 2017

Day 1 Results for India

    4th seed HS Prannoy def Hiren (Indonesia) 21-14 21-16 in 36 minutes
    7th seed Sourabh Verma def Nathan (New Zealand) 21-17 21-15 in 31 minutes
    15th seed Kashyap def Rumbaka (Indonesia) 21-15 21-10 in 22 minutes
    16th seed Siril Verma def Riyanto (Indonesia) 21-13 21-12 in 27 minutes
    Neeraj Vashisht def Yunanto (Indonesia) 21-8 21-9 in 17 minutes
    Pratul Joshi def Vong (New Zealand) 21-10 21-13 in 19 minutes
    Sahil Sipani def Joshua (New Zealand) 21-10 21-10 in 22 minutes


    2nd seed Ajay Jayaram to Chia Hung Lu (Taipei) 21-19 21-13 in 31 minutes
    Sachin Rawat
    Siddharath Thakur
    Arun Kumar Ashok Kumar

Day 2 Schedule for Indians
MS 2nd Round

    4th seed HS Prannoy vs Firman (Indonesia)
    7th seed Sourabh Verma vs Wibowo (Indonesia)
    15th seed Kashyap vs Oscar Guo (New Zealand)
    16th seed Siril Verma vs Angga (Indonesia)
    Neeraj Vashisht vs Anthony Joe (New Zealand)
    Pratul Joshi vs top seed Tzu Wei Wang (Taipei)
    Sahil Sipani vs 11th seed Hsien (Taipei)

Other Indians on Day 2

    XD Prajakta Sawant / Yogendran (Malaysia) vs Chinese pair
    WD Prajakta Sawant / Sanyogita Ghorpade vs 4th seed Ayako/Yukiko (Japan)
    MD Sahil Sipani / Jagadish Yadav vs Malaysian pair

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.