ODI Bowling Records: History of 38 Hattricks Taken

JP Duminy has taken 38th hattrick of ODI Cricket, which is also the 9th hattrick taken during a World Cup tournament. Taijul Islam of Bangladesh has got the most special hattrick in ODI. He got hattrick on debut vs Zimbabwe. Pakistan has taken the maximum hattricks, while Malinga is the hattrick King of ODIs. Check out the interesting facts about hattricks including the list of countries and players who took hattricks, and against whom the hattricks were taken.

2015 World Cup: Complete Fixture in Indian Time

Hattricks in World Cup
8 bowlers from 7 countries have grabbed 9 hattricks in the World Cup.

    Chetan Sharma of India is the first to achieve the record
    Malinga is the only one to grab two hattricks.
    Name and Edition of Hattrick Bowlers: Chetan Sharma (1987), Saqlain Mushtaq (1999), Chaminda Vaas and Brett Lee (2003), Lasith Malinga (2007 and 2011), Kemar Roach (2011), Steven Finn, JP Duminy (2015)

Hattrick Facts

    1. 3 Most hattricks by a bowler (Malinga)
    2. Youngest bowler to take hattrick is Aaquib Javed (19 years and 81 days).
    3. Maximum Hattricks in a Year: 3 in 2003 and 2011
    4. Maximum Hattricks at one ground: 4 at Sharjah,
    3 Harare, Colombo (RPS), Melbourne (MCG)
    5. Only 7 out of 38 hattricks are taken by spinners.
    6. 8 maximum hattricks taken by Pakistan.
    7. 6 maximum hattricks taken against Zimbabwe and Australia.
    8. Although 12 maximum hattricks were taken during 2000-2009 decade, still after that only in 6 years 13 hattricks have already been taken.
    9. Taijul Islam is the only bowler to get ODI hattrick on debut.
    10. 9 hattricks taken during World Cup.

Hattricks by Decades

    1980-89 4 hattricks
    1990-99 9 hattricks
    2000-2009 12 hattricks
    2010-2015 13 hattricks

Hattricks for Country

    8 Pakistan
    7 Sri Lanka
    5 Australia
    4 Bangladesh, England
    2 New Zealand, India, West Indies, Zimbabwe, South Africa

Hattricks Against Country

    6 Zimbabwe, Australia
    4 India, West Indies, New Zealand
    3 Sri Lanka, Pakistan
    2 England, Kenya, South Africa
    1 Bangladesh, Netherlands

List of Hattricks in Sequence

    1. Jalal-ud-Din in 1982 Pakistan v Australia at Hyderabad (Pak)
    2. Bruce Reid 1986 Australia v New Zealand at Sydney
    3. Chetan Sharma 1987 India v New Zealand at Nagpur
    4. Wasim Akram 1989 Pakistan v West Indies at Sharjah
    5. Wasim Akram 1990 Pakistan v Australia at Sharjah
    6. Kapil Dev 1991 India v Sri Lanka at Calcutta
    7. Aaqib Javed 1991 Pakistan v India at Sharjah
    8. Danny Morrison 1994 New Zealand v India at Napier
    9. Waqar Younis 1994 Pakistan v New Zealand at East London
    10. Saqlain Mushtaq 1996 Pakistan v Zimbabwe at Peshawar
    11. EA Brandes 1997 Zimbabwe v England at Harare
    12. AM Stuart 1997 Australia v Pakistan at Melbourne
    13. Saqlain Mushtaq 1999 Pakistan v Zimbabwe at The Oval
    14. Vaas 2001 Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe at Colombo (SSC)
    15. Mohammad Sami 2002 Pakistan v West Indies at Sharjah
    16. Chaminda Vaas 2003 Sri Lanka v Bangladesh at Pietermaritzburg
    17. Brett Lee 2003 Australia v Kenya at Durban

    18. James Anderson 2003 England v Pakistan at The Oval
    19. Steve Harmison 2004 England v India at Nottingham
    20. CK Langeveldt 2005 South Africa v West Indies at Barbados
    21. Shahadat Hossain 2006 Bangladesh v Zimbabwe at Harare
    22. Jerome Taylor 2006 West Indies v Australia at Mumbai (BS)
    23. Shane Bond 2007 New Zealand v Australia a Hobart
    24. Lasith Malinga 2007 Sri Lanka v South Africa at Guyana
    25. Flintoff 2009 England v West Indies at St Lucia
    26. Maharoof 2010 Sri Lanka v India at Dambulla
    27. Abdur Razzak 2010 Bangladesh v Zimbabwe at Dhaka
    28. Kemar Roach 2011 West Indies v Netherlands at Delhi
    29. Malinga 2011 Sri Lanka v Kenya at Colombo (RPS)

    30. Malinga 2011 Sri Lanka v Australia at Colombo (RPS)
    31. Daniel Christian 2012 Australia v Sri Lanka at Melbourne
    32. NLTC Perera 2012 Sri Lanka v Pakistan at Colombo (RPS)
    33. Clint McKay 2013 Australia v England at Cardiff
    34. Rubel Hossain 2013 Bangladesh v New Zealand at Dhaka
    35. Paul Utseya 2014 Zimbabwe vs South Africa at Harare
    36. Taijul Islam 2014 Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe at Mirpur
    37. Steven Finn 2015 England vs Australia at Melbourne
    38. JP Duminy South Africa vs Sri Lanka.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.