Playoff 2 Review: MI has huge edge over KKR

Kolkata Knight Riders play their first knockout matches in IPL eyeing not only history but also seeking revenge against the surprise defeat against Mumbai Indians in their last group match that also costem them a direct place in top 2.

KKR Vs MI History
Mumbai Indians Player Performances
Kolkata Knight Riders Player Performances

In the last meeting in 2011 group stage, MI reached the high total set by KKR in the last over. Franklin in the company of Rayudu scored 23 runs in the last over of Balaji, that included a last ball six from Rayudu to score unpredictable victory and stop their losing streak.

Who Will Win Today!
MI should win it. KKR should be happy to progress a step beyond their last 3-year’s effort in IPL. MI at home is too strong to beat for KKR. The only catch is the pitch. If the pitch is a turner, MI will be in trouble as they have been in the past against DC and RR.

Key Battles
Sachin vs Kallis
Sachin and Kallis are the old horses who still carry the power to change the game single-handedly. Both were in the hunt for Orange Cap. Sachin is still close to the top mark.

Pathan vs Pollard
The champions of sixes who can take wickets too have been the most talked about players of the tournament. Pathan had a better tournament than Pollard’s. Yet with fielding Pollard has changed the matches in MIs favor. The winner of the battle between them will turn the shape of the match in their team’s favor.

Mumbai Indians Squad
Batsman: Sachin Tendulkar (Captain), Ambati Rayudu, Rajagopal Sathish, Rohit Sharma, Tirumalasetti Suman, Aditya Tare (WK), Davy Jacobs (WK)
Allrounder: James Franklin, Moises Henriques, Kieron Pollard, Andrew Symonds
Bowlers: Aiden Blizzard, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh, Munaf Patel, Abu Nechim, Yuzvendra Chahal, Sarul Kanwar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Ali Murtaza, Pawan Suyal, Santosh Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad
Batsman: Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Brad Haddin (WK), Eoin Morgan, Manvinder Bisla, Shreevats Goswami, Laxmi Shukla, Manoj Tiwary,
Allrounder: Jacques Kallis, Ryan ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan,
Bowlers: Brett Lee, James Pattinson, Pradeep Sangwan, Jaidev Unadkat, Shami Ahmed, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Rajat Bhatia, Sarabjit Ladda, Iqbal Abdulla

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.