RIO 2016: 15 Indian Men, But Not Even One 2nd Round in Athletics

15 Men’s Athletes represent India at Rio 2016. None could even qualify for next round. Except Norman Pritchard in 1900, none of the Indian Athletes have been successful in winning a medal in Field events. Even big Indian names could not get on the podium in the past. At Rio 2016, India is sending the biggest contingent of Athletics. Apart from 6 athletes in Field events, 32 athletes will represent India in Track & road events. Check the complete schedule and past record of Men’s events.

Indian Record in Athletics: 214 Athletes, 24 Olympics, 2 Silver, Only 12 Final
Indian Performance in Every Olympics
History of All Sports Played at Olympics by India
Indian Medals In Olympics: When and Who Got It!!

Indian Teams and Schedule at Rio 2016: Athletics: Women’s, Archery, Badminton, Boxing, Golf, Gymnastics, Hockey: Men’s, Women’s, Judo, Rowing, Shooting, Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis, Weightlifting, Wrestling

Men’s Schedule
Dharambir Singh and Inderjeet Singh were not allowed to contest.

    12 Aug Mohammad Anas 400 m – 6th in Heat 45.95
    12 Aug Jinson Johnson 800 m – 5th in Heat 1:47.27
    12 Aug Ankit Sharma Long Jump – 24th 7.67
    12 Aug Vikas Gowda Discus Throw – 28th 58.99
    12 Aug Manish Singh (12th), Gurmeet Singh and Ganapathi Krishnan (Disqualified) 20 Km walk
    15 Aug Renjith Maheshwary Triple jump – 30th 16.13
    19 Aug Sandeep Kumar (36th) 50 Km walk
    19 Aug Mohammad Anas, Ayyasamy Dharun, Mohan Kumar,Sumit Kumar, Mohammed Kunhi,Arokia Rajiv 4×400m relay – DISQUALIFIED
    21 Aug Thonakal Gopi (24th), Kheta Ram (25th), Nitender Singh Rawat (84th) in Marathon

In 2012 Olympics, Vikas Gowda reached Finals in Men’s Discus throw finishing 8th. 10th position by Irfan Kolothum Thodi in 20 Km walk was the best finish for Indians in Track & road events.

    Om Prakash Karhana (Shot put), Renjith Maheshwary (Triple jump) in Men’s event did not clear Qualification round.
    Basanta Bahadur Rana: Men’s 50 km walk (36)
    Baljinder Singh: Men’s 20 km walk (43)
    Gurmeet Singh: Men’s 20 km walk (33)
    Ram Singh Yadav: Men’s Marathon (78)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.