SAFF Championships: Indian Women Complete Record Hattrick of Football Title

Indian Women Footballers created a record of sorts in Indian Sports. They have completed a record hattrick of titles in the SAFF Championships. Can any other Indian team (not individual) boast of such an achievement. Meeting the Nepali team for the third consecutive final, Indian Team routed Nepal by 6-0. Bala Devi with four goals in the match scored a record 15 goals in 5 matches of the tournament. Sad for Nepal that even in third final they could not defeat India and clinch the title.

Indian Route to Final

Goal Scorers

    22nd minute Kamala Devi
    40th minute Bala Devi
    43rd minute Bala Devi
    47th minute Romidevi Ashem
    51st minute Bala Devi
    92nd minute Bala Devi

The match played at Jinnah Stadium at Islamabad, Pakistan saw record goals in the final. For the first 21st minute the teams measured each other, then started the rush to score.

In the 22nd minute Kamala Devi scored the first goal of the match. Tournament’s top scorer Bala Devi scored two goals within 3 minutes (40th and 43rd minute) to take India to 3-0 lead by the end of first half.

In the second half, Nepali women hardly got to the ball. In the 47th minute Roma Devi scored the 4th goal, while in the 51st minute Bala Devi completed her second hattrick of the tournament. But she was more hungry. As the Nepali players looked tired, in the extra time (92nd minute) Bala Devi scored the final goal of the match and India completed the rout of Nepal winning 6-0.

Bala Devi scored a record 16 goals in the tournament. India conceded only one goal throughout the tournament, and scored 36 goals.

Nepal did not conceded any goal before the final.

Indian Goal Scorers of the Tournament

    16 Bala Devi
    6 Indumati Devi and Pramsehowri Devi
    3 Kamala Devi Yumnam
    1 Mandakani Devi, Oinam Bembem Devi, Ann Burrett, Upamati Devi, Romidevi Ashem

Indian Squad for the Tournament

    Kamala Devi, Bembem Devi, Alochana Senapti, Ronaroy Salam, Prameshowri Devi, Romidevi Ashem, Sasmita, Supriya, Jyoti Ann Burrett, Mandakani Devi, Suprava Samal, Pinky Bhompal Magar, Sasmita Malik, Tuli Goon, Montesori Chanu, Bala Devi, Umapati Devi, Indumati

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.