SAFF Women Championship: Indian Women Eying Hattrick, 3rd Title Clash with Nepal

Indian Women’s Football team is unstoppable at the South Asian Football Federation Women Championship. They have already won the first two editions of 2010 and 2012. Now even in the third edition held at Jinnah Sports Stadium in Islamabad, Pakistan from 11-21st November, 2014, they have reached the final undefeated. They will meet Nepal for the third consecutive final of SAFF championship. 21st November will tell if Nepal is ready with arsenals to stop Indian women now.

Indian Women Route to Final
India topped Group A winning all the three matches. They defeated Maldives 8-0, Bangladesh 5-1 and Afghanistan 12-0.
In the semifinal they defeated Sri Lanka 5-0. Indumati Devi (2), Bala Devi, Prameshowri Devi, and Yumnam Kamala Devi scored a goal each.

Ngangom Bala Devi of India is on rampage scoring 10 goals at group stage. She scored 4 goals vs Maldives, 2 vs Bangladesh and 5 vs Afghanistan. She took her tally to 11 goals with a goal in semifinals.

Among other players, Indumati Devi (5) and Pramsehowri Devi (5) also scored hattricks against Afghanistan. Mandakani Devi (2), Kamala Devi (3) Oinam Bembem Devi (1), Ann Burrett (1), Upamati Devi (1) scored at league stage.

Sabina Khatoon of Bangladesh is the only player to have scored a goal against them in the current edition.

History of Indian Women
India and Nepal Rout Others at Bangladesh in 2010
In 2010, India won the title without conceding a goal. They scored 40 goals.
With 18 goals against Bhutan, Indian women scored 31 goals in 3 matches. They defeated Sri Lanka 7-0 and Bangladesh 6-0. In the semifinal they routed Pakistan 8-0.
In the final they won against Nepal with a solitary goal.

Interestingly, even Nepal has scored 31 goals at Group Stage. They won the semifinal vs Bangladesh 3-0. The only goal they conceded in the tournament was against India in the final.

India Routs All, Concedes Only Goal in Final at Sri Lanka, 2012
India was again left unchallenged as they won the tournament defeated Nepal 3-1 in the final.
At Group stage they scored 19 goals defeating Bangladesh (3-0), Sri Lanka ((5-0) and Bhutan (11-0).
Pinky Magar scored a hattrick against Bhutan.
In the semifinal India routed Afghanistan 11-0. Kamal Devi and Bembem Devi scored hattricks.
In the final they conceded their only goal as Dipa Adhikari took Nepal into lead in the third minute of the game.

Kamala Devi was declared the player of the series with 7 goals.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.