Sultan of Johor Cup: India wins 1st Bronze, Aussies Retain Title to match Indian Record

As India won their first Bronze at Sultan of Johor Cup where now they have 2 Gold, 2 Silver, 1 Bronze and 1 4th place finish in 6 outings (out of 7 editions), Aussies became the only team after Indians to retain the title and emerge winner twice. Indians won in 2013 and 2014. Playing their third final here, 2015 winner Great Britain finished Runners up for the second time. Malaysia, the hosts finished 4th, Japan finished 5th, while USA signed off not only without scoring a goal but by conceding record 95 goals in 7 matches. With 9 Goals, Dilpreet Singh became the top scorer of the tournament.

Sultan of Johor Cup 2017: Schedule and Results

Great Britain who remained undefeated at Group stage winning all the five matches including one against Australia conceded first goal in 4th minute and from then on could never get back in the game.

Ranking Results

    5th place Japan def USA 11-0
    3rd place Ind def Malaysia 4-0
    Final Australia def Great Britain 2-0

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.