WC Tales: 4 Captains and the Tail of Choker Tag of South Africa!!

Since re-entry to international Cricket in 1992, South Africa has entered the semifinals thrice in every alternate edition. Kepler Wessels, its first captain had also represented Australia in the World Cup before. Hansie Cronje and Greeme Smith captained in two editions each. 4th captain was Shaun Pollock. Despite 3 semifinals and also one of the best win loss record in the World Cup, South Africa are more remembered in the World Cup as chokers. AB de Villiers, the captain of 2015 squad, has one of the best in-form team. The big question haunting them: Can they rewrite their history and at least enter the final!! Kallis the only South Africa with experience of 5 editions retired. 40 year old Omar Henry (1992) has been their oldest player, while 21 year old Wayne Parnell (2011) and Monde Zondeki (2003) have been their youngest in the World Cups. Check the complete squad, captains with respective age.

2015 World Cup Schedule
WC Squad Tales: Australlia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies

South Africa
2nd: Kepler Wessels (Played for Australia too earlier)

    Captain: Kepler Wessels
    Youngest: Hansie Cronje (23), Jonty Rhodes (23)
    Oldest: Omar Henry (40)
    Team (Age): Omar Henry (40), Peter Kirsten (37), Kepler Wessels (35), Adrian Kuiper (33), Dave Richardson (33), Brian McMillan (29), Andrew Hudson (27), Mark Rushmere (27), Tertius Bosch (26), Allan Donald (26), Meyrick Pringle (26), Richard Snell (24), Hansie Cronje (23), Jonty Rhodes (23)

2nd: Brian McMillan, Andrew Hudson, Allan Donald, Hansie Cronje, Jonty Rhodes

    Captain: Hansie Cronje
    Wicketkeeper: Steve Palframan
    Youngest: Jacques Kallis (22)
    Oldest: Pat Symcox (36)
    Team (Age): Pat Symcox (36), Brian McMillan (33), Fanie de Villiers (32), Andrew Hudson (31), Craig Matthews (31), Allan Donald (30), Paul Adams (29), Gary Kirsten (29), Daryll Cullinan (29), Hansie Cronje (27), Jonty Rhodes (27), Steve Palframan (26), Shaun Pollock (23), Jacques Kallis (22)

3rd: Allan Donald, Hansie Cronje, Jonty Rhodes
2nd: Gary Kirsten, Daryll Cullinan, Shaun Pollock, Jacques Kallis

    Captain: Hansie Cronje
    Wicketkeeper: Mark Boucher
    Youngest: Mark Boucher (24)
    Oldest: Steve Elworthy (34)
    Team (Age): Steve Elworthy (34), Allan Donald (33), Gary Kirsten (32), Daryll Cullinan (32), Hansie Cronje (30), Jonty Rhodes (30), Lance Klusener (29), Derek Crookes (30), Alan Dawson (30), Nicky Boje (27), Shaun Pollock (26), Herschelle Gibbs (26), Jacques Kallis (25), Dale Benkenstein (25), Mark Boucher (24)

4th: Allan Donald, Jonty Rhodes
3rd: Gary Kirsten, Shaun Pollock, Jacques Kallis
2nd: Lance Klusener, Nicky Boje, Herschelle Gibbs, Mark Boucher

    Captain: Shaun Pollock
    Wicketkeeper: Mark Boucher
    Youngest: Monde Zondeki (21)
    Oldest: Allan Donald (37)
    Team (Age): Allan Donald (37), Gary Kirsten (36), Jonty Rhodes (34), Lance Klusener (32), Shaun Pollock (30), Nicky Boje (30), Jacques Kallis (29), Herschelle Gibbs (29), Charl Langeveldt (29), Andrew Hall (28), Mark Boucher (27), Makhaya Ntini (26), Boeta Dippenaar (26), Robin Peterson (24), Graeme Smith (22), Monde Zondeki (21)

4th: Shaun Pollock, Jacques Kallis
3rd: Herschelle Gibbs, Mark Boucher
2nd: Charl Langeveldt, Andrew Hall, Makhaya Ntini, Robin Peterson, Graeme Smith

    Captain: Graeme Smith
    Wicketkeeper: Mark Boucher
    Youngest: AB de Villiers (23)
    Oldest: Shaun Pollock (34), Roger Telemachus (34)
    Team (Age): Shaun Pollock (34), Roger Telemachus (34), Jacques Kallis (33), Herschelle Gibbs (33), Charl Langeveldt (33), Andrew Hall (32), Mark Boucher (31), Makhaya Ntini (30), Loots Bosman (30), Justin Kemp (30), André Nel (30), Ashwell Prince (30), Robin Peterson (28), Graeme Smith (26), AB de Villiers (23)

5th: Jacques Kallis
3rd: Robin Peterson, Graeme Smith
2nd: AB de Villiers

    Captain: Graeme Smith
    Wicketkeeper: Morne van Wyk
    Youngest: Wayne Parnell (21)
    Oldest: Jacques Kallis (37)
    Team (Age): Jacques Kallis (37), Robin Peterson (32), Imran Tahir (31), Morne van Wyk (31), Graeme Smith (30), Johan Botha (28), AB de Villiers (27), Hashim Amla (27), Dale Steyn (27), JP Duminy (26), Francois du Plessis (26), Morné Morkel (26), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (26), Colin Ingram (25), Wayne Parnell (21)

3rd: AB de Villiers
2nd: Imran Tahir, Hashim Amla, Dale Steyn, JP Duminy, Francois du Plessis, Morné Morkel, Wayne Parnell

    Wicketkeeper: Quinton de Kock
    Team (Age): Imran Tahir (35), AB de Villiers (31), Hashim Amla (31), Aaron Phangiso (31), Farhaan Behardien (31), Dale Steyn (31), JP Duminy (30), Francois du Plessis (30), Morné Morkel (30), Vernon Philander (29), Kyle Abbott (27), Rilee Rossouw (25), David Miller (25), Wayne Parnell (25), Quinton de Kock (22)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.