WC Tales: Pakistan Has Maximum Bowlers As Captains in World Cup

Pakistan has been the most sensational winner of World Cup coming back from the jaws of knockout in 1992. Pakistan is the unique team where a World Class batsman plays 6 World Cup but never captains the team. No wonder it’s most of the captains in World Cup have been bowlers. Till 1999, they had only three captains with Asif Iqbal and Wasim Akram leading twice each. After that they have seen a new captain in every edition and now in 2015 World Cup 40-year old Misbah is set to become the oldest captain of any team in a World Cup edition. Javed Miandad, their youngest player ever in World Cup, holds the joint record of 6 World Cup appearances with Sachin Tendulkar. Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, Inzamam and Shahid Afridi (including 2015 WC) have also appeared in 5 editions each. The team has the unique distinction of being led by bowlers in maximum World Cup editions. Check the captains and squads of every edition for Pakistan.

2015 World Cup Schedule
World Cup Tales: Border, Greatest Australian Captain, Ponting the Most Capped
World Cup Tales: A New Captain Every Edition, But No Winners for England
India Is the Country Where WC Title Brought Cricket Revolution


    Captain: Asif Iqbal
    Wicketkeeper: Wasim Bari
    Youngest: Javed Miandad (18)
    Oldest: Asif Iqbal (32), Mushtaq Mohammad (32)
    Team (Age): Asif Iqbal (32), Mushtaq Mohammad (32), Sadiq Mohammad (30), Majid Khan (29), Asif Masood (29), Zaheer Abbas (28), Sarfraz Nawaz (27), Wasim Bari (27), Naseer Malik (25), Imran Khan (23), Wasim Raja (23), Pervez Mir (22), Javed Miandad (18)

2nd: Asif Iqbal, Wasim Bari, Sadiq Mohammad, Zaheer Abbas, Sarfraz Nawaz, Imran Khan, Wasim Raja, Javed Miandad, Majid Khan

    Captain: Asif Iqbal
    Wicketkeeper: Wasim Bari
    Youngest: Javed Miandad (22), Sikander Bakht (22)
    Oldest: Asif Iqbal (36)
    Team (Age): Asif Iqbal (36), Sadiq Mohammad (34), Majid Khan (33), Zaheer Abbas (32), Sarfraz Nawaz (31), Wasim Bari (31), Imran Khan (27), Wasim Raja (27), Haroon Rashid (26), Mudassar Nazar (23), Javed Miandad (22), Sikander Bakht (22)

3rd: Wasim Bari, Zaheer Abbas, Imran Khan, Javed Miandad, Sarfraz Nawaz, Wasim Raja
2nd: Mudassar Nazar

    Captain: Imran Khan
    Wicketkeeper: Wasim Bari
    Youngest: Rashid Khan, Tahir Naqqash (24)
    Oldest: Zaheer Abbas (36)
    Team (Age): Zaheer Abbas (36), Sarfraz Nawaz (35), Wasim Bari (35), Imran Khan (31), Wasim Raja (31), Shahid Mahboob (31), Abdul Qadir (28), Mohsin Khan (28), Mudassar Nazar (27), Javed Miandad (26), Mansoor Akhtar (26), Rashid Khan (24), Tahir Naqqash (24)

4th: Imran Khan, Javed Miandad
3rd: Mudassar Nazar
2nd: Abdul Qadir, Mansoor Akhtar

    Captain: Imran Khan
    Youngest: Ijaz Ahmed (19)
    Oldest: Imran Khan (35)
    Team (Age):Imran Khan (35), Abdul Qadir (32), Mudassar Nazar (31), Javed Miandad (30), Mansoor Akhtar (30), Tauseef Ahmed (29), Saleem Yousuf (28), Shoaib Mohammad (26), Rameez Raja (25), Saleem Jaffar (25), Saleem Malik (24), Manzoor Elahi (24), Wasim Akram (21), Ijaz Ahmed (19)

5th: Imran Khan, Javed Miandad
2nd: Rameez Raja, Saleem Malik, Wasim Akram

    Captain: Imran Khan
    Wicketkeeper: Moin Khan
    Youngest: Zahid Fazal (19)
    Oldest: Imran Khan (40)
    Team (Age): Imran Khan (40), Javed Miandad (35), Iqbal Sikander (34), Rameez Raja (30), Saleem Malik (29), Wasim Akram (26), Aamir Sohail (26), Wasim Haider (25), Ijaz Ahmed (24), Inzamam-ul-Haq (22), Mushtaq Ahmed (22), Moin Khan (21), Aaqib Javed (20), Zahid Fazal (19)

6th: Javed Miandad
3rd: Rameez Raja, Saleem Malik, Wasim Akram
2nd: Ijaz Ahmed, Aamir Sohail, Aaqib Javed, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Javed Miandad, Mushtaq Ahmed,

    Captain: Wasim Akram
    Wicketkeeper: Rashid Latif
    Youngest: Saqlain Mushtaq (20)
    Oldest: Javed Miandad (39)
    Team (Age): Javed Miandad (39), Rameez Raja (34), Saleem Malik (33), Wasim Akram (30), Ijaz Ahmed (28), Aamir Sohail (30), Rashid Latif (28), Saeed Anwar (28), Inzamam-ul-Haq (26), Mushtaq Ahmed (26), Waqar Younis (25), Aaqib Javed (24), Ata-ur-Rehman (21), Saqlain Mushtaq (20)

4th: Saleem Malik, Wasim Akram
3rd: Ijaz Ahmed, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Mushtaq Ahmed, Moin Khan
2nd: Saeed Anwar, Saqlain Mushtaq, Waqar Younis

    Captain: Wasim Akram
    Wicketkeeper: Moin Khan
    Youngest: Shahid Afridi (19)
    Oldest: Saleem Malik (36)
    Team (Age): Saleem Malik (36), Rameez Raja (34), Wasim Akram (33), Saeed Anwar (31), Ijaz Ahmed (31), Inzamam-ul-Haq (29), Waqar Younis (28), Mushtaq Ahmed (29), Moin Khan (28), Yousuf Yohana (25), Wajahatullah Wasti (25), Shoaib Akhtar (24), Azhar Mahmood (24), Saqlain Mushtaq (23), Abdul Razzaq (20), Shahid Afridi (19)

5th: Wasim Akram
4th: Inzamam-ul-Haq
3rd: Saeed Anwar, Saqlain Mushtaq, Waqar Younis
2nd: Rashid Latif, Yousuf Yohana, Shoaib Akhtar, Azhar Mahmood, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi

    Captain: Waqar Younis
    Wicketkeeper: Rashid Latif
    Youngest: Mohammad Sami (22), Taufeeq Umar (22)
    Oldest: Wasim Akram (37)
    Team (Age): Wasim Akram (37), Saeed Anwar (35), Rashid Latif (35), Inzamam-ul-Haq (33), Waqar Younis (32), Yousuf Yohana (29), Shoaib Akhtar (28), Azhar Mahmood (28), Saleem Elahi (27), Saqlain Mushtaq (27), Younis Khan (26), Abdul Razzaq (24), Shahid Afridi (23), Mohammad Sami (22), Taufeeq Umar (22)

5th: Inzamam-ul-Haq
3rd: Yousuf Yohana, Azhar Mahmood, Shahid Afridi
2nd: Mohammad Sami, Younis Khan

    Captain: Inzamam-ul-Haq
    Wicketkeeper: Kamran Akmal
    Youngest: Umar Gul (23)
    Oldest: Inzamam-ul-Haq (37)
    Team (Age): Inzamam-ul-Haq (37), Yousuf Yohana or Mohammad Yousuf (33), Azhar Mahmood (28), Younis Khan (30), Rana Naved-ul-Hasan (29), Shahid Afridi (27), Mohammad Hafeez (27), Rao Iftikhar (27), Danish Kaneria (27), Mohammad Sami (26), Imran Nazir (26), Shoaib Malik (25), Kamran Akmal (25), Yasir Arafat (25), Umar Gul (23)

4th: Shahid Afridi
3rd: Younis, Abdul Razzaq
2nd: Mohammad Hafeez (31), Kamran Akmal, Umar Gul

    Captain: Shahid Afridi
    Wicketkeeper: Kamran Akmal
    Youngest: Ahmed Shehzad (19)
    Oldest: Misbah-ul-Haq (36)
    Team (Age): Misbah-ul-Haq (36), Younis Khan (34), Shahid Afridi (31), Abdul Razzaq (31), Mohammad Hafeez (31), Saeed Ajmal (31), Abdur Rehman (30), Kamran Akmal (29), Umar Gul (27), Asad Shafiq (25), Wahab Riaz (25), Junaid Khan (21), Umar Akmal (20), Ahmed Shehzad (19)

5th: Shahid Afridi
4th: Younis
3rd: Mohammad Hafeez
2nd: Misbah-ul-Haq, Wahab Riaz, Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad

    Captain: Misbah-ul-Haq
    Wicketkeeper: Sarfraz Ahmed, Umar Akmal
    Youngest: Ehsan Adil (21)
    Oldest: Misbah-ul-Haq (40)
    Team (Age): Misbah-ul-Haq (40), Younis Khan (37), Shahid Afridi (34), Mohammad Hafeez (34), Mohammad Irfan (32), Sohail Khan (30), Wahab Riaz (29), Yasir Shah (28), Sarfraz Ahmed (27), Sohaib Maqsood (27), Haris Sohail (26), Umar Akmal (24), Ahmed Shehzad (23), Ehsan Adil (21)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.